WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Cardboard Marty
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:29 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Robot Mountain

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Cardboard Marty »

I don't think Weasel is working on weapons at the moment. If anything, he's just tweaking existing weapons and balancing. I personally believe that any suggestions or ideas should be directed toward improving the existing weapons or for the VR Missions levels.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by wildweasel »

Okay guys, check out the new version.

http://armory.drdteam.org/wwmods/inprog ... c-diaz.rar

The usual ridiculously minor bugfixes apply here (so minor, I forgot what they were). Check the player setup menu for a little surprise.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by lizardcommando »

Cool, you have custom classes in the mod. :)

So what are the differences between them? I couldn't really tell aside from the obvious voice changes and sprites.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by wildweasel »

The classes currently only have aesthetic differences (and Hernandez's viewheight is two units higher than Diaz's) - I eventually intend to give Diaz and Hernandez different starting pistols (depending on Marty's input of course) and perhaps some alterations to the players' physics as well, providing it doesn't break existing maps too much. Unfortunately, as of yet I have no viable way to spawn separate sets of weapons per class, or else I would end up merging this mod and the (upcoming, as of yet not formally announced) Hernandez mod.

[edit] Oh, I must also add: Hernandez's sprites aren't quite finished yet. Marty's still working on his death frames. Until then, however, I've put in a temporary death animation for him (which is unintentionally both hilarious and a little gross).
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: WATR HQ

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by DoomRater »

I had thought about this for the design of GGR, but the solution I had was to use a custominventory item that automatically gave you the appropriate weapon for what it was supposed to be, ammo if you already had the weapon, and fail to pickup if you were full on both.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by wildweasel »

I totally forgot to mention this: I've decided that, since I hardly update the Doom Armory as it is, I'm going to start posting updates on my projects at the Doom Armory's news section instead of in this thread. If something's important enough, I'll cross-post it at the ZD forums, but those interested in keeping tabs on my project can look at http://armory.drdteam.org/ and feel free to comment. It'll be easier to keep things sorted out in the long run.
Tamashii
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Tamashii »

wildweasel, i play around with your code alot, and was wondering how would you code the player to toss 3 grenades? yet not toss 3 when there's 2 or less? here's the code i modified privately on your diaz mod.

thanks.

ACTOR HandGrenade : Weapon
{
Weapon.SelectionOrder 50
Weapon.AmmoType Gren
Weapon.AmmoGive 3
Weapon.AmmoUse 1
Inventory.Icon GRNDC0
Scale 0.25
+NOALERT
+NOAUTOFIRE
States
{
Spawn:
GRNP A -1
LOOP
Ready:
GRNG A 0 A_JumpIfNoAmmo(2)
GRNG A 1 A_WeaponReady
Loop
TNT1 A 1 A_WeaponReady
Loop
Deselect:
GRNG A 0 A_JumpIfNoAmmo("EmptyDeselect")
GRNH ABCD 1
EmptyDeselect:
TNT1 A 6
TNT1 A 1 A_Lower
Goto Deselect+6
TNT1 A 1 A_Lower
Goto Deselect+7
Select:
TNT1 A 6 SetPlayerProperty(0,1,2)
GRNH DCBA 1
GRNG A 1 A_Raise
Goto Select+5
Fire:
GRNG A 2 A_PlaySound("grenade/arm")
GRNG BCD 0
TNT1 A 0
TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",0,1,0,0)
GRNG E 1 A_PlaySound("grenade/toss")
GRNG FGHIJK 1
TNT1 A 10
GRNG DCB 2
Goto Ready
AltFire:
GRNG A 2 A_PlaySound("grenade/arm")
GRNG BCD 0
TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory("Gren",3)
TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
TNT1 A 2
TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
TNT1 A 2
TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
GRNG E 1 A_PlaySound("grenade/toss")
GRNG FGHIJK 1
TNT1 A 10
GRNG DCB 2
Goto Deselect
}
}
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: WATR HQ

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by DoomRater »

The only thing missing is the sanity check, which should be done before anything else in the AltFire section. Add a TNT1 A 1 A_JumpIfInventory("Gren",3,1) and afterwards a Goto Ready just under AltFire to achieve this.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by wildweasel »

How about making sure the alternate fire is using the proper amount of ammo first:

Code: Select all

Weapon.AmmoUse2 3
Then use A_JumpIfNoAmmo in the Altfire states and redirect it to a state that doesn't do anything:

Code: Select all

GRNG A 0 A_JumpIfNoAmmo("AltEmpty")
[...]
AltEmpty:
GRNG A 1
Goto Ready
And lastly, make sure that only ONE of your A_FireCustomMissile lines is set to use ammo (preferably the first of the three). Haven't tested the changes myself, though, so you might have to tweak it a bit to get it to work.
Tamashii
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Tamashii »

thanks for the helpful replies. i'll experiment with it after dinner.
Tamashii
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Tamashii »

i try this and a few other combinations. the logic makes sense in my head, but when i alt-fire in doom, it just switches to pistol. not sure what i'm doing wrong here. any pointers? thanks.

Code: Select all

   AltFire: 
      GRNG A 0 A_JumpIfNoAmmo("AltEmpty") 
      GRNG A 2 A_PlaySound("grenade/arm")
      GRNG BCD 0
      TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory("Gren",3)
      TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
      TNT1 A 2
      TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
      TNT1 A 2
      TNT1 A 0 A_FireCustomMissile("Grenade",random(-5,5),1,random(-5,5),random(-5,5))
      GRNG E 1 A_PlaySound("grenade/toss")
      GRNG FGHIJK 1
      TNT1 A 10
      GRNG DCB 2
      Goto Ready
   AltEmpty:
      GRNG A 1
      Goto Ready
on the top,

Code: Select all

ACTOR HandGrenade : Weapon
{ 
	Weapon.SelectionOrder 50
	Weapon.AmmoType Gren
	Weapon.AmmoGive 3 
	Weapon.AmmoUse1 1
        Weapon.AmmoUse2 3 


User avatar
Snarboo
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:37 am

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Snarboo »

Hey Weasel, is there anyway you could upload your latest release of Diaz to a filesharing site? I'm getting terrible download speeds from the Armory.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4133
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by Kappes Buur »

wildweasel wrote:I totally forgot to mention this: I've decided that, since I hardly update the Doom Armory as it is, I'm going to start posting updates on my projects at the Doom Armory's news section instead of in this thread. If something's important enough, I'll cross-post it at the ZD forums, but those interested in keeping tabs on my project can look at http://armory.drdteam.org/ and feel free to comment. It'll be easier to keep things sorted out in the long run.
If I may make two requests,
could you also upload the updates on one of the file sharing servers. DRDTEAM's download speed is usually ca 5KB/s,
include an update version in the file name.

That would be most helpful.

otherwise :cheers: :thumb:

EDIT: ah, I see Snarboo has the same problem
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by wildweasel »

Uploading to (and even downloading from) these file-sharing sites these days is getting to be pretty painful. If somebody can recommend me one that's better than Rapidshare or Sendspace, I'll give it a try.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: WWHC-Diaz + (NEW!) The VR Missions (help wanted!)

Post by lizardcommando »

I don't think you need to sign up or anything for MegaUpload. It's quick and easy to use. The only thing that sucks is that an ad pops up before you download anything.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”