Change line/wall light via ACS?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
User avatar
Ravick
Posts: 2037
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:59 pm
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

Change line/wall light via ACS?

Post by Ravick »

Hi there.

Is there an ACS way to dynamically change a wall's line value? I was searching in the wiki, but I didn't find a way to do it.

Thanks in advance.

[edit] I've tried the following, bit it did nothing. Would something of this nature be possible?

Code: Select all

int test = 93;      // TID of the fist line.
		    //I've made a dummy sector with brighter light and set it to line 93 via Transfer Wall Brightness.

Script "LightTest" (void)
{
	Test++;
	SetLineSpecial (430, 16, test, 5);      // 430 is the TID of the line with the Transfer Wall Brightness special
						      // I was hoping to change the line's special and set the TID of the next wall to get brighter.
}
Is there a way to make something with this nature work?
User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Change line/wall light via ACS?

Post by SPZ1 »

The main problem with what you're trying to do is that Transfer_WallLight() doesn't have an ACS variant. Just look at the Action Specials page of the wiki. It says "No Script" in the script column. This special is meant to be used from a control sector, like 3D floors for example. :)
User avatar
Ravick
Posts: 2037
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:59 pm
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

Re: Change line/wall light via ACS?

Post by Ravick »

Thank you, SPZ1.

I got it working by making a kludge with different variants of the same texture, each one with a brighter brightmap. It was not an elegant solution, but it worked! :mrgreen:

Return to “Scripting”