Double quickload slot selection bug

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:09 am

No idea of what's going on but you don't need to actually load a save twice first for it to work, just opening the menu with F9 and closing it is enough to make it work after loading just one save (now that it doesn't crash). :?
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:40 pm

It's fixed in LZDoom, but now the quicksave slot is selected using quicksave like in original Doom instead of quickload. :mrgreen:
However if you save in that session that first save slot will also be selected for quicksave, no big deal i think and by default it asks for confirmation.
The quicksave slot now must be selected explicitly.

https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/com ... 0b983a16c6
Last edited by drfrag on Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:36 am

No, now it still doesn't work. Sometimes it does but only when you delete a savegame right before selecting the slot. :mad:
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:41 am

It's working again, i've had to revert the second commit but as i've said no big deal. It's a very restrictive setup and now it works by pure luck. Could be a race condition, it only works well this way.
The following line is needed the first time:
Code: Select allExpand view
if (quickSaveSlot == nullptr || quickSaveSlot == (FSaveGameNode*)1 || forceQuicksave) quickSaveSlot = node;
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:48 am

Dear logbook...
Okay this time it's fixed for good. This house is clear. :lol:
With another global variable of course, you never can get enough of them. :mrgreen:
I think there was a race condition and it didn't work well on fast computers (not surprising since i found several while working on LE, for instance on very slow machines you had to select the video mode twice). Before the quicksave slot was selected either doing a regular savegame or using quickload, but the special marker only worked the second time (in FSavegameManager::DoSave).
Now the slot must be selected using quicksave only and the marker no longer works (the slot is selected in FSavegameManager::NotifyNewSave).
Note that these changes would also have fixed the crash.
The previous commit and this one:
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/com ... 72acda0307
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby De-M-oN » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:22 am

Quicksave Rotation is a step forward but still doesnt do what I would like to have the most (which like most other shooters have)

Current Doom behavior:
F2 Save on slot 1
Now I press F6 and it overwrites slot 1, F9 loads slot 1
Until this point I'm happy.

Now imagine this situation: I survived a hard fight and due to low health I want to save on an else slot - slot 2, so that I can revert to before the hard fight just in case on slot 1.
So I press F2 to write on slot 2
Now I press F6 again and expect it to be saved on slot 2 - but it doesnt - it overwrites slot 1 :x

Its the vanilla behavior but its a very strange design

Why cant it just quicksave and load on the new selected F2 position???

But the rotation is certainly a huge step forward to workaround this problem.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Postby drfrag » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:11 pm

You need to select a different quicksave slot.
In LZDoom i changed how the old quicksave works and i introduced a savegame slot selection bug, but then i noticed there was already an ancient selection bug in ZDoom. When a new autosave is created that new save was not taken into account and the slot pointers were not updated so the previous slot was selected instead. Made a PR.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Previous

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests