ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
FishyClockwork
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by FishyClockwork »

According to this here [wiki]Classes:ActorMover[/wiki]
128: If the thing being moved is normally solid, make it nonsolid so that it can't be blocked.
However I have found out that's actually not the case.
According to this it seems the ActorMover is changing its own flags instead of its tracer's flags. Seems like a typo?
https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/blo ... ra.zs#L492
actormover-nonsolidtest.wad
Have a test map, the moving green pillar is supposed to be non-solid, but you can stand in its way and it'll be blocked.
The ActorMover is using the 128 bit.

EDIT: Actually, any flag changes it's supposed to do are done on itself and not the tracer, regardless if 128 is used or not.
This seems wrong?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
FishyClockwork
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by FishyClockwork »

Not sure if this is relevant, but yes, apparently ZDoom's version did actually change the tracer's flags. So it's definitely broken.
https://github.com/rheit/zdoom/blob/mas ... a.cpp#L542
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by drfrag »

User avatar
FishyClockwork
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by FishyClockwork »

Thank you kindly!
Although the fix is incomplete.

Other flags that are being changed is bNoGravity here
And bInvulnerable and bDormant here

The whole issue seems to be contained in the Activate() override which is pretty short.
Just to compare (again), here's ZDoom's version of ActorMover's Activate()
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by drfrag »

I fixed what you reported and the test wad works.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by drfrag »

User avatar
FishyClockwork
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:04 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by FishyClockwork »

Apologies for the inconvenience.
I should have caught the whole thing in the OP but didn't notice it until later.

Thanks again.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: ActorMover can't make an actor non-solid

Post by drfrag »

No big deal, i didn't catch it either. It was an inconvenience for the ZZDoom release, i could have moved the tag but being myself i had to do a hard reset. xD

Return to “Closed Bugs”