-nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

-nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Korell » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:01 am

I found out about the D4V mod from a PCGamer article a couple of days ago and decided to check it out. The author says that the command line to use it should use the -nodeh parameter followed by loading their provided DEH file. I think this is to prevent any DEH from being run from other mods/maps being loaded before the D4V mod itself.

Anyway, is the -nodeh parameter available for gzdoom.exe as I've not found any mention of it anywhere for GZDoom? When should it be used, and does the DEH option in the options menu make the command line parameter obsolete?
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Gez » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:31 am

I don't even see it listed here...
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Korell » Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:16 pm

Gez wrote:I don't even see it listed here...

That's why I posted, just in case it is a parameter that isn't made aware in any documentation. Looking at the command line parameters for Chocolate Doom, though, it is present. So it may just be that certain ports have this parameter available but GZDoom doesn't. I know that GZDoom has within the Miscellaneous Options a settings for the loading of DEH and BEX lumps, which I think is set to "Never" by default, so that may be why it has no need for a -nodeh parameter.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Gez » Tue Sep 03, 2019 4:18 pm

I think that setting is for loading deh files that are in a zip (and generally named things like modname.deh instead of dehacked.txt like a lump would be). GZDoom certainly loads deh lumps by default.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Korell » Tue Sep 03, 2019 4:40 pm

Gez wrote:GZDoom certainly loads deh lumps by default.

Yes, you are right, I just tested it with "Doom The Way id Did" without loading the additional DEH file, and GZDoom just loaded the DEH that is contained within the PWAD itself.

So, is there a way to stop GZDoom from loading DEH lumps?

The Choocolate Doom Wiki gives the -nodeh parameter description as follows:

-nodeh
Disable automatic loading of Dehacked patches for certain IWAD files.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby 3saster » Tue Sep 03, 2019 5:05 pm

If I remember correctly, only one Dehacked file can be added at once. As such, the last loaded dehacked file is loaded. Thus loading D4V last should work, but this may cause problems with wads that use dehacked for more than just level names, since stuff like custom monsters from the pwad may not work correctly.
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Phobos867 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:59 am

Hi, Noiser here (creator of D4V).

Dehacked files actually can be merged (afaik) and that breaks compatibilty with D4V. The -nodeh parameter is used to prevent any dehacked lump from being loaded with the D4V one.

It's possible to add this parameter to GZDoom?
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Gez » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:41 am

Korell wrote:The Chocolate Doom Wiki gives the -nodeh parameter description as follows:

-nodeh
Disable automatic loading of Dehacked patches for certain IWAD files.

Oh, that makes sense then, for things like Freedoom.

Choco, by definition, does not normally load embedded DEHACKED lumps because it's not vanilla behavior. You've got to explicitly load external dehacked files with the -deh parameter; there was just an allowance made for Freedoom and perhaps some other IWADs like Hacx.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Korell » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:26 pm

3saster wrote:If I remember correctly, only one Dehacked file can be added at once. As such, the last loaded dehacked file is loaded. Thus loading D4V last should work, but this may cause problems with wads that use dehacked for more than just level names, since stuff like custom monsters from the pwad may not work correctly.

Checking with some PWADs, like Doom 2 The Way id Did, loading them before D4V, in the GZDoom console it shows entries for three sets of DEH files being loaded.
Firstly, D4V.deh, then from within D2TWID.wad, and then from within D4V.wad.
The command line I'm using to launch this is:

START gzdoom.exe -iwad doom2.wad -file D2TWID.WAD D4V.wad MAP07fix\fD2TWID.WAD -nodeh -deh D4V.deh

So the -nodeh is not stopping it from loading the DEHACKED patch from within D2TWID, and it also seems that the D4V DEHACKED patch exists within the PWAD and the DEH file.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: -nodeh parameter with gzdoom.exe

Postby Phobos867 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:20 am

Gez wrote:
Korell wrote:Choco, by definition, does not normally load embedded DEHACKED lumps because it's not vanilla behavior. You've got to explicitly load external dehacked files with the -deh parameter; there was just an allowance made for Freedoom and perhaps some other IWADs like Hacx.

It's not necessary on choco, but this parameter also works on crispy, prBoom and possibly other ports as well.
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest