[Fixed] 48.cab music problems

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

48.cab music problems

Postby Cyb » Thu Oct 23, 2003 9:09 am

it appears the only kind of music that works is mus, I tried wads with mp3, mod and ogg and none of them played music. Didn't try any with midi music but I assume they won't play either
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:30 pm

Set "Mod Volume" in the Options menu? (if this ain't a bug)
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:51 pm

Regular doom mus lumps play as do embedded midi's. Like Cyb, I can't hear MP3s - regardless of volume setting.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby HotWax » Thu Oct 23, 2003 1:33 pm

I can't get externally loaded mp3's to work, either. Nothing happens when trying to specify a file directly. If I try to load a WinAmp playlist (M3U), everything freezes for a little while, and then ZDoom reports "Nothing could be played in this playlist." to the console.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Cyb » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:06 pm

Hirogen2 wrote:Set "Mod Volume" in the Options menu? (if this ain't a bug)


what do you think I'm a total moron or something? I never report a bug unless I'm sure it's not me and I'm sure it's a bug. I checked all my settings and even altered a few and then renamed my ini file to let zdoom make a new one before posting this.
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Chris » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:12 pm

It seems the fmod.dll in 48.cab is newer(v3.7.0) than the one with 47/47i(v3.6.2). What if you try replacing the newer one with the older? Sounds like FMOD got b0rked, or broke compatibility with Randy's code.
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:27 pm

I got this running 2.0.48 with what I think this was with the previous ver of fmod.dll

The procedure entry point _FSOUND_Stream_Open@16 could not be located in the dynamic link library fmod.dll
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Cyb » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:28 pm

chris: yeah I tried that as well, but then I get this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:32 pm

Cyb wrote:chris: yeah I tried that as well, but then I get this


:P
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Cyb » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:34 pm

er okay sorry for the double post, but it is indeed the fmod.dll that comes with zdoom that is borked, I have the fmod api dled and the dll included with that is dated 6 days later than the one included with 48.cab

if you replace your version of fmod.dll with this one:

http://cyb.vect.org:8080/misc/fmod.zip

music works again :)

edit: okay it's not a double post, enjay got in there heh :P
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:40 pm

Cyb wrote:edit: okay it's not a double post, enjay got in there heh :P


Heh, yeah, but your's looked a lot prettier. And you found a fix. With that newer fmod.dll, MP3 music plays just fine for me too.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby randi » Thu Oct 23, 2003 3:36 pm

Cyb wrote:if you replace your version of fmod.dll with this one ... music works again :)

And here I just got done changing my code so it wouldn't need to use FMOD's file callbacks, which turned out to be broken in the older FMOD 3.70. (I do wish bugfixes in FMOD would bump the version number.)
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Fri Oct 24, 2003 8:48 am

Cyb wrote:
Hirogen2 wrote:Set "Mod Volume" in the Options menu? (if this ain't a bug)
what do you think I'm a total moron or something?

Nah, I was just giving hint that you may missed an option.
A simple "no I checked that" would have sufficed kthx
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby DrewbieDoobie007 » Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:35 pm

awwwww, no more messages telling the songname and artist when playing an m3u playlist? And you even added that nice fading effect to messages, darn!
User avatar
DrewbieDoobie007
First time caller, long time DOOMer...
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: Shelton, Nebraska, USA


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests