GZDoom 4.12.2 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13596
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Rachael »

Notice: The survey is currently CLOSED. GZDoom 4.12.2 contains no survey code. This version will not prompt you to submit your hardware info.

Please do not post bugs or issues in release threads! Click here
Download (OpenGLES 2.0 and higher) (note: Linux AppImage is not being published, for now, due to issues - use the portable build instead, or flathub when it becomes available)

Highlights:
  • Linux fixes, network fixes, ZMusic update
Details
Full Changelog: https://github.com/ZDoom/gzdoom/compare ... ...g4.12.2
User avatar
Doomguy 2000
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Undisclosed Location, United States

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Doomguy 2000 »

Thanks I appreciate this update bringing back the console so I can check my wads to see if they have console errors.
User avatar
theleo_ua
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:38 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by theleo_ua »

I see you set "allowduplicates = false" by default in 4.12.0, so all my bundles become broken because they are based on duplicates in gameinfo. I noticed, that I can "-allowduplicates" in BAT file, so my bundles will work again.

Question: is it a way to make "allowduplicates = true" other than in BAT file, for example in CFG or INI? I tried with CFG, but it doesn't work
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13596
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Rachael »

I think that is possible but it will require a separate feature suggestion.
User avatar
theleo_ua
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:38 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by theleo_ua »

Rachael wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 6:52 pm I think that is possible but it will require a separate feature suggestion.
suggestion created: viewtopic.php?t=79072
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1334
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by AFADoomer »

The 'Downloads' page is still showing 14.12.1 as current release.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Redneckerz »

AFADoomer wrote: Thu May 02, 2024 6:09 pm The 'Downloads' page is still showing 14.12.1 as current release.
And this page: viewtopic.php?t=32845 - from the frontpage links to 4.10.0 still.
brick
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 10:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by brick »

I admit I'm not a fan of the new launcher, it looks nicer but I liked that the old one had all the information visible all at once without having to go to another tab to adjust settings. I almost always use an external launcher though so the change doesn't bother me.

I will miss the old text startups for Doom however, I liked that the banner was different for each IWAD (and could be modified by PWADs using a GAMEINFO lump), it certainly had more personality than the black screen with the red progress bar at the bottom. If there's a way to keep that I'd love to know. At least the Raven custom startups still work.

Some great features in 4.12 otherwise, as always thank you to the team for all the hard work.
User avatar
Acts 19 quiz
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2021 8:16 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Acts 19 quiz »

brick wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 5:04 pm I admit I'm not a fan of the new launcher, it looks nicer but I liked that the old one had all the information visible all at once without having to go to another tab to adjust settings. I almost always use an external launcher though so the change doesn't bother me.

I will miss the old text startups for Doom however, I liked that the banner was different for each IWAD (and could be modified by PWADs using a GAMEINFO lump), it certainly had more personality than the black screen with the red progress bar at the bottom. If there's a way to keep that I'd love to know. At least the Raven custom startups still work.

Some great features in 4.12 otherwise, as always thank you to the team for all the hard work.
It has its benefits and drawbacks.

The good:
  • Being able to choose language at the launcher itself. Especially with more work being poured into the GZDoom translation table, this is a boon for people that want (or need) GZDoom to have the right language to start from. Especially if they're new to GZDoom, and aren't familiar with the other way to do it.
  • It looks really nice, not just like a generic Windows form. Whether or not this is actually a benefit is entirely subjective, and does absolutely nothing to make it function better or worse than the g4.11 Launcher, but I do think it looks nice.
The bad:
  • The radio options lack radio buttons, causing some confusion because they look like ordinary check boxes. Though according to a GZDoom response, this will be made irrelevant in g5.# (whenever that eventually happens).
  • The new loading screen is, in my opinion, retrograde. It's a plan black screen with no information whatsoever, versus the prior loader which not only looked nice and was extremely customizable by mods to match a theme, but also produced useful output to help rat out and diagnose non-lethal errors upon load for mod makers.
  • Other minor bug(s).
Like with a lot of big changes like this, the bad comes with the good, and nothing is going to be perfect on its first attempt. Still, outside of the watered down loading screen, I think this is the foundation for a good step forward for a better cross-OS launcher (remember when Windows, Linux, and Mac OSx lacked feature parity?) with more startup options.
brick
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 10:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by brick »

Thanks for the post, you made some very good counterpoints. I hadn't thought of the language menu, it's definitely a great addition and will hopefully bring in even more users. On examining it further the options that got moved to the second tab are not ones that should need to be changed regularly, so grouping them together with the language actually makes a lot more sense than I first realized. And of course you're right that the menu does look nicer and more professional, and the cross-OS feature is a big win. I'm reversing my opinion, this is an improvement in every way.

I would still like to see the old loading screen available. It doesn't have to even be the default, just an option that can be toggled on (even if it's just an ini flag I'd be more than happy with that). I think I understand the reasoning behind the new screen, if used in a GZDoom-engine game it looks more professional than the console-style loader, but as you said I like the customization in the old one, not to mention the new one now just makes some of the options that can be set in GAMEINFO useless since it doesn't have a way to display them.
Professor Hastig
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2023 2:02 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Professor Hastig »

brick wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 5:22 pm I would still like to see the old loading screen available. It doesn't have to even be the default, just an option that can be toggled on (even if it's just an ini flag I'd be more than happy with that). I think I understand the reasoning behind the new screen, if used in a GZDoom-engine game it looks more professional than the console-style loader, but as you said I like the customization in the old one, not to mention the new one now just makes some of the options that can be set in GAMEINFO useless since it doesn't have a way to display them.
That old screen was removed because it was three different implementations for the major OSs - the new one is one shared implementation for all platforms.
This simple fact alone is why the old ones won't come back - maintaining 3 or 4 launch screens is a lot more work than having a single platform independent version.
User avatar
MartinHowe
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:50 pm
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by MartinHowe »

Professor Hastig wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 6:10 am That old screen was removed because it was three different implementations for the major OSs - the new one is one shared implementation for all platforms.
This simple fact alone is why the old ones won't come back - maintaining 3 or 4 launch screens is a lot more work than having a single platform independent version.
So is there any reason the console cannot be re-implemented in terms of the API for the new widget thing, once we have details of how to use it? Or are the hooks into the engine for ZScript simply not available at that time? I'm thinking for easy debugging of mods, rather than to just look cool.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by dpJudas »

I am not sure I really get the need here exactly. If the startup fails you see the usual fatal error log window where you can read the entire log. If it doesn't fail you can see the startup log by bringing down the console.

If someone wants to volunteer and code the feature then I don't think anyone would reject the PR, but personally I'm not going to code it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49091
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

I'm with dpJudas here. The old log window wasn't that great anyway because you couldn't copy text out of it. Reimplementing it wouldn't bring back much of value. If you relly need the startup log for testing, use '-stdout' on the command line. What we might do is adding a CVAR that makes this setting persistent.
User avatar
MartinHowe
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:50 pm
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: GZDoom 4.12.2 released

Post by MartinHowe »

Graf Zahl wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 10:18 am I'm with dpJudas here. The old log window wasn't that great anyway because you couldn't copy text out of it. Reimplementing it wouldn't bring back much of value. If you relly need the startup log for testing, use '-stdout' on the command line. What we might do is adding a CVAR that makes this setting persistent.
OK, I can see that now. Unfortunately, that doesn't work when testing in UDB; it doesn't show you the CLI output window when there's an error messagebox, only the widget screen. I'll have to think about how to work around that.

In the meantime, what does "-stdout" actually do? The engine seems to write the console output to the CLI window (when I start the engine) anyway :?

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”