Floating sprite?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:45 pm

Floating sprite?

Post by Hipshot »

I have just made a simple tree that I added, but it's acting strange inside UDB, it's floating high up in the air, even if the origin/base is at the ground. In the game, it works perfect, as you want it to look.

This is what I mean:

https://i.imgur.com/dVI3r3z.png

This is the code I'm using, it's quite simple, I think it's ok? I copied it from the Wolfenstein TC I believe.

Code: Select all


class Tree3 : Actor
{
	Default
	{
		//$Tree44XX
		-SOLID
	}

	States
	{
		Spawn:
			TRE1 C -1;
			Stop;
	}
} 

It's so strange, because it really works well in game...
User avatar
The DANDY Company
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:51 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Re: Floating sprite?

Post by The DANDY Company »

I’ve been having a similar issue with HD sprites I defined in TEXTURES and scaled to the proper size using the XScale/YScale properties. They look correct in-game (offsets are correct), but in UDB visual mode, they are floating high up in the air even though the bounding box is on the floor. Meant to report this in the UDB thread. I’ll post an example later today.

Andarchitect
The DANDY Company
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:45 pm

Re: Floating sprite?

Post by Hipshot »

Yea, forgot to mention that. But yea, that seems to be the issue. When I changed back to scale 1 they all worked.

Return to “Mapping”