Block dyn lights for stacked sectors

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Block dyn lights for stacked sectors

Post by Darkcrafter »

When making stacked sectors, dynamic lights and especially big ones that belong to one "sector" bleed into the geometry of another. It's quite logical sometimes but if I simulate sun with a big radius dyn light in the outdoor area this would bleed into the interiors making all the light work in vain and look bad. So is there a way to add a special actor on top of a stacked sector that would add certain dyn ligts thing number or tag on the list to exclude them from lighting?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
The DANDY Company
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:51 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Re: Block dyn lights for stacked sectors

Post by The DANDY Company »

I wish there was (and something similar for ambient sounds too), but I think I’ve seen this discussed before and that there was no way to do it (or not easily at least). But I could be wrong.

Anyway, I resolved similar problems with an ambient sound by changing the lower sectors’ ceiling/floor height to something like 2000 units below the upper sectors. Maybe more than that, cause the sound was supposed to be heard for quite a distance along the x/y axes, but not vertically. This also made the elevator ride between the sections a lot longer, but I was okay with that in my case and just sped up the elevator.

Not sure if that would help with your scenario though..
User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Block dyn lights for stacked sectors

Post by Darkcrafter »

Must be a nice trick, thanks.

Return to “Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”