Zandronum 3.2 crash

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

When I try to join any server that runs on Zandronum 3.2, my Zandronum shuts down without anything. How can I fix this?
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by Rachael »

First, make sure your drivers are up to date, and that your computer has no malware running on it. You may also have to do a system file check in order to ensure that your system files are not corrupted. You may also have to clean your system a bit, removing unused programs and whatever, especially if it is an older system it may have a lot of things interfering with normal operation.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by yum13241 »

Also make sure your settings aren't jacked up all the way.

You need to give us more information about your PC. OS, specs, Zandronum settings, etc.


If Rachael's advice doesn't help you, a reinstall of your OS is probably the best option.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by wildweasel »

One thing I have not seen suggested yet is to see if you can configure Zandronum to save a console log when it starts. I'm not sure how to do this through Doomseeker, but you MIGHT be able to get that functionality by creating an autoexec.cfg in the game folder, and adding logfile mylog.txt to a blank line in it. I have not tested this myself, however.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Rachael wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 1:59 am First, make sure your drivers are up to date, and that your computer has no malware running on it. You may also have to do a system file check in order to ensure that your system files are not corrupted. You may also have to clean your system a bit, removing unused programs and whatever, especially if it is an older system it may have a lot of things interfering with normal operation.
My files are fine. However, I must point out, that Zandronum works completely fine when I play on the release version, and not the test one.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

yum13241 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 9:39 am Also make sure your settings aren't jacked up all the way.

You need to give us more information about your PC. OS, specs, Zandronum settings, etc.


If Rachael's advice doesn't help you, a reinstall of your OS is probably the best option.
OS: Windows 10, uses AMD Ryzen 3 3200G, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050ti. Zandronum settings are mostly standard.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by yum13241 »

Have you upgraded/downgraded your drivers recently? That may be the source of the problem. See AMD + OpenGL + Windows with GZDoom. Spoiler alert: it's broken.

Can you send us a crash log like how WildWeasel suggested?
EmperorGreiferus wrote: When I try to join any server that runs on Zandronum 3.2, my Zandronum shuts down without anything. How can I fix this?
Make sure you're running Zandronum 3.2 as well. I know you probably are but let's make sure.

Are you using the Vega graphics or your NVIDIA ones? Try switching between them. Who knows, it could be a shader miscompilation.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

yum13241 wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 8:07 am Have you upgraded/downgraded your drivers recently? That may be the source of the problem. See AMD + OpenGL + Windows with GZDoom. Spoiler alert: it's broken.

Can you send us a crash log like how WildWeasel suggested?
EmperorGreiferus wrote: When I try to join any server that runs on Zandronum 3.2, my Zandronum shuts down without anything. How can I fix this?
Make sure you're running Zandronum 3.2 as well. I know you probably are but let's make sure.

Are you using the Vega graphics or your NVIDIA ones? Try switching between them. Who knows, it could be a shader miscompilation.
I'd like to send you a crash log, but it crashes without any warning. Unless it's being saved in some directory.
As for graphics, I probably use NVIDIA ones, though I haven't checked yet. And yes, I run Zan3.2.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

I updated the driver, but it still crashes.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by yum13241 »

Add logfile log.txt to your autoexec.cfg. Create it if it doesn't exist.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

I found the source of the problem.
It appears that I had 2 Zandronum folders, one in Program Files, and other in AppData/Local. And it seems that they were conflicting with each other, resulting in silent crash.
With that being said, I'm closing this topic.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by yum13241 »

I wouldn't recommend either location TBH. Program Files is screwy with older GZDooms, including Zandronum. AppData/Local is also bad because I hate the AppData folder. (more seriously, it's easier to just put it somewhere like C:\Users\YOURNAME\Games
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

yum13241 wrote: Sun Mar 26, 2023 11:32 am I wouldn't recommend either location TBH. Program Files is screwy with older GZDooms, including Zandronum. AppData/Local is also bad because I hate the AppData folder. (more seriously, it's easier to just put it somewhere like C:\Users\YOURNAME\Games
Well, it's Zandronum's choice.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by yum13241 »

EmperorGreiferus wrote: Well, it's Zandronum's choice.
In what? They can't just update because their netcode is hostile to ZScript by design. I guarantee you that if Zandronum was up2date the amount of mods made in DECORATE would drop by A LOT to say the least.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Zandronum 3.2 crash

Post by wildweasel »

What on Earth are you replying to?

Return to “Technical Issues”