GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
Doomguy 2000
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Undisclosed Location, United States

GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Doomguy 2000 »

I've noticed in the recent update to GZDoom that when I launch Hexen or other wads that have startup music, it doesn't seem to play. It's only at the very beginning it plays music and when it goes full screen or windowed at the desired resolution it does this.
User avatar
EmeraldCoasttt
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:35 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by EmeraldCoasttt »

I'm experiencing this issue as well
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3854
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Marisa the Magician »

On my side I do have a different issue, where the music starts, and then very shortly after, the startup screen begins rendering AND the music starts over. Only seems to happen with some music formats, though.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Graf Zahl »

That sounds like something blocks the music stream callback.
User avatar
Doomguy 2000
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Undisclosed Location, United States

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Doomguy 2000 »

All I know is that I didn't mess with the music settings and was working fine in the previous versions of GZDoom but isn't working in this particular version for some reason I can't explain.
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2879
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Chris »

Marisa the Magician wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 10:34 am On my side I do have a different issue, where the music starts, and then very shortly after, the startup screen begins rendering AND the music starts over. Only seems to happen with some music formats, though.
That sounds like the engine starts music playback, then something blocks the music thread from running for a moment (long enough for the starting buffer queue to drain/underrun), before it's able to show the start screen when allowing the music thread to update again and restart the audio stream. I could see that happen if you don't have many cores, and the game tries to upload a lot of data to the GPU, or do some other heavy task the prevent user threads from running.

Or maybe something starts the music initially, stops it while preparing data, then starts it again when showing the startup screen. Some formats (like MIDI with a large soundfont) can take a bit of time to load and (re)start, especially on older systems without an SSD.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3854
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 Startup Music doesn't work properly

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I'm pretty sure my specs are currently top of the line, though. Doubt it's related to that.

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”