ERROR "GetNumForName: PLAYPAL not found" running Doom 64 with ZDL

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
01STEPHEN10
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2022 12:39 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home - Single Language
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Colombia

ERROR "GetNumForName: PLAYPAL not found" running Doom 64 with ZDL

Post by 01STEPHEN10 »

I've been trying to run Doom 64 with ZDL, this to play "Brutal Doom 64". I tried to run it with and without the MODs but i always get "GetNumForName: PLAYPAL not found" error. What can i do?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ERROR "GetNumForName: PLAYPAL not found" running Doom 64 with ZDL

Post by wildweasel »

You are likely attempting to load Doom 64 as an IWAD; it does not work this way. Try using Doom 2 as your IWAD instead.
Casualfan
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:31 pm

Re: ERROR "GetNumForName: PLAYPAL not found" running Doom 64 with ZDL

Post by Casualfan »

Doom 64 currently can't be played through GZDoom (I've asked about this a lot haha). Brutal Doom 64 is actually a total conversion based on the Doom 2 IWAD. You don't need Doom 64 to play it at all.

Return to “General”