Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Sadly this is the same shit as it had been on Doomworld: These newfangled forum themes all have a fixed width, effectively wasting an entire third of my screen.

The ne-drdteam theme is fine but its color contrast is a bit high for my taste
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
Posts: 5998
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Caligari87 »

The style change for this would be overriding the .wrap css class width.

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	max-width: none;
	/*normally this seems set to exactly 1152px for some godforsaken reason?*/
}
This can be done as a client-side style override if it's not feasible or desirable to do it for everyone.

8-)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Graf Zahl »

If the base theme needs to be kept intact, how about making a copy with sane settings?
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
Posts: 5998
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Caligari87 »

I'm not saying it won't be changed, that's not my call at the moment. "Sane" is relative, I presume some people like the max-width, right-aligned avatars, etc. Ideally it'd be nice if options like this can be set as toggles instead of completely new themes, but that's outside my knowledge right now. I'm only noting the style changes required, and that they can be applied client-side if necessary.

8-)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13107
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Rachael »

A copy is an extremely bad idea, for exactly the same reason as it is copying classes from within GZDoom.

However, like GZDoom, phpBB does allow template inheritance, so I'll see about creating a new style atop the existing one with the necessary changes. I have to change the logo for the prosilver-blue one anyway.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Caligari87 wrote: Mon Aug 08, 2022 1:41 pm I'm not saying it won't be changed, that's not my call at the moment. "Sane" is relative, I presume some people like the max-width, right-aligned avatars, etc. Ideally it'd be nice if options like this can be set as toggles instead of completely new themes, but that's outside my knowledge right now. I'm only noting the style changes required, and that they can be applied client-side if necessary.

8-)

It stops being funny if you zoom out and only seeing a tiny sliver of text.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13107
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Rachael »

Alright - I ended up having to make a half-copy anyway, it turns out in order to function properly a phpBB style needs all its .css files intact.

Yuck.

But now there's a separate prosilver_zdoom style and I grayed out the base prosilver style.

So this has been [Added] - and we can further tweak the base prosilver style as needed to our needs.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Graf Zahl »

What about the dark one?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13107
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Rachael »

I don't mind modifying that directly. I'll look at it in a moment.

EDIT: Done. Use Ctrl-F5 (on Firefox) to see the change.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by dpJudas »

Ah thanks for fixing the (white) prosilver theme. Now it feels nice to browse again. :)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Is there a way to make ProSilver use the full screen width?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Definitely better - except for the,name tabs on the right.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”