Help building Gzdoom on Win10

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Help building Gzdoom on Win10

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

I don't know if this is the right place to ask this, i hope it's correct ... I've tried in the past to build Gzdoom on win10, i've downloaded visual studio Installer but then i got stuck : there are lots of "components" listed; what components i need in order to build gzdoom?
Edit : ok, installed the c++ workflow with the most basic components, then cmake, compile succesful. Any suggestion for further optimization?
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Help building Gzdoom on Win10

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

I've noticed that the compiled gzdoom never shows the commit version on the console, it's always "unknown version"; how can i change this?
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Help building Gzdoom on Win10

Post by _mental_ »

Install Git for Windows. Make sure that path to Git executable is in the PATH environment variable. This should be done by installer IIRC.
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Help building Gzdoom on Win10

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

I've installed the git for windows component from the installer, then cloned the repository, but how can i compile the release?
Edit; ok, installed git for windows separately, everything works, thank you.

Return to “Technical Issues”