Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps size

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
theleo_ua
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:38 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Ukraine

Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps size

Post by theleo_ua »

Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps font size (con_scaletext)

GZDoom 4.8.0 x64 / Win10 / AMD_Vulkan

Steps:
1) Run GZDoom
2) Start any map
3) Open console
4) Type "con_scale 3" and "con_scaletext 3"

Actual result: text is small:
https://i.ibb.co/QnZYZYN/480-001.png
https://i.ibb.co/BCZCHnn/480-002.png

Expected result: text is big:
https://i.ibb.co/S3vYSGm/471.png

5) Type "con_scale 4" and "con_scaletext 4" (or 1 2 5 6)
6) Try to change any scale options in "HUD / Scale" section of options menu

Actual result: nothing changed
Expected result: font size should be changed

NOTE: behavior was ok in 4.7.1, bug appear in 4.8.0

NOTE2: my config: https://u.pcloud.link/publink/show?code ... 13KVg0pc3y

(NOTE to admins: please cancel my previous duplicate post of this bug, where I was not logged in)
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21582
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps

Post by wildweasel »

This has been addressed: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=75538

Console text scaling via cvar has been re-added for the next version.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48519
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps

Post by Graf Zahl »

If I am not mistaken, this is the fourth time you reported this. Isn't that a bit overkill?
User avatar
theleo_ua
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:38 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Ukraine

Re: Impossible to change console text font size and vid_fps

Post by theleo_ua »

theleo_ua wrote:(NOTE to admins: please cancel my previous duplicate post of this bug, where I was not logged in)
Graf Zahl wrote:If I am not mistaken, this is the fourth time you reported this. Isn't that a bit overkill?
First time I was not logged in (don't know why it's happened), second time I logged in, so we have current thread.

I'm not sure, why you see 4 reports (you only should see 2), but I bet it's related to spam filter for non-logged in users (where I clicked Submit, received "wrong answer to spam filter" message and tried again). If yes, then I didn't know that message with wrong answers to spam filter are also posted

And if you dont mean what I told above (so you mean I reported this as logged in user, but in another places), then it was not me, so those "3 other reports" were not by myself. This is the first time I reported this

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”