Pull Request
Adjusts the thing's 3D position on render side. This allows for adjusting a thing's visual position without impacting their hitbox. I wanted to do something like this as a hit-stun effect for my TC (although I ended up rolling with a different effect because I couldn't do this). However I still think this can be a incredibly useful feature.
This is an example script that gives the Doom imp fireball a crazy spinning effect, ala Shotzo's bullets from Kirby: https://mega.nz/file/K2IVASBZ#58jjARYMO ... I4YXHyYTUw
(I am relatively inexperienced with GZDoom's codebase, mostly have dug around with vanilla Doom, so please let me know if there's anything important I missed.)
WorldOffset field
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 142
- Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:25 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
-
- Posts: 8202
- Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team
Re: WorldOffset field
I could certainly appreciate this, especially when it comes to actors with +NOINTERACTION and not moving which are the most optimized of them all.
However I'm curious. Does the sprite render when the image is, say, around a corner and out of sight of the original actor?
Take this for example. Pretend the player is some regular actor, and the map spot is the projected location with WorldOffset. Does the image render appropriately and de-render if out of sight based on WorldOffset?
Second, what about interpolation?
However I'm curious. Does the sprite render when the image is, say, around a corner and out of sight of the original actor?
Take this for example. Pretend the player is some regular actor, and the map spot is the projected location with WorldOffset. Does the image render appropriately and de-render if out of sight based on WorldOffset?
Second, what about interpolation?
-
-
- Posts: 17478
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Re: WorldOffset field
Also, does it handle portals correctly?
(I didn't check the code, currently occupied, it's just a quick passing remark)
(I didn't check the code, currently occupied, it's just a quick passing remark)
-
- Posts: 142
- Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:25 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Re: WorldOffset field
I haven't checked if it works for crazy offsets or portals. Doesn't interpolate at all though.
I was mostly aiming to make a "3D" version of SpriteOffset that would work with models, and I'm pretty sure it doesn't handle any of those cases either. I could look into supporting it later tonight though.
I was mostly aiming to make a "3D" version of SpriteOffset that would work with models, and I'm pretty sure it doesn't handle any of those cases either. I could look into supporting it later tonight though.