I want to know why this happens in GZD v4.6 and up, but not with 4.5.0.
When I use InventoryReader, it CTD after a few seconds with this message "Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer: out of device memory".
pk3 included in the crash report.
Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 185
- Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:22 pm
- Location: Philadelphia
Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 1291
- Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
- Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
Getting this error too, but I have steps to reproduce. Running a recent AMD GPU.
1. Grab JGP's Painslayer mod and load it up under the Vulkan renderer.
2. Start a new game, be taken to the tarot card board.
3. Wait a couple seconds, it'll crash with an out of memory error.
Here's the related crash report.
1. Grab JGP's Painslayer mod and load it up under the Vulkan renderer.
2. Start a new game, be taken to the tarot card board.
3. Wait a couple seconds, it'll crash with an out of memory error.
Here's the related crash report.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 1291
- Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
- Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
Addendum to the above: if you follow the first step but also specify that GZDoom should go straight to a map, by providing either +map or +skill as command line parameters, GZDoom will immediately crash with Integer Divide by Zero instead - with Vulkan enabled of course, this does not happen in other renderers. Related crash report attached.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 185
- Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:22 pm
- Location: Philadelphia
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
IIRC both Divine Frequency & Painslayer use ZForms. Weird thing is using GZD v4.5.0's with Vulkan rendering did not cause the crash. OpenGL with GZD's current version is also safe as well.
-
-
- Posts: 3145
- Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
So far all the 'could not allocate memory' errors have been caused by higher level GZDoom rendering code requesting zero byte buffers, which the heap management library used by the vulkan code doesn't support. If there are divide by zero errors that also would indicate something passed in a zero that shouldn't have done so.
-
- Posts: 185
- Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:22 pm
- Location: Philadelphia
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
Is there anything I can do about this? Or is it just a hardware issue.
Re: Could not allocate memory for vulkan buffer
Hello.
Yeah, old pesky error...
gl_precache enabled with Vulkan engine will cause a program to crash even faster.
This error will always occur if you "clog" your GPU VRAM.
For example, massive anti-aliasing or texture scaling set too high.
Usually it won't crash under OpenGL, but it will slow down the game a lot, as textures will start loading into RAM
I have a graphics card with a lot of VRAM, but the program crashes anyway with Vulkan.
gl_precache is a useful function as it store textures into VRAM and the game runs fine without stuttering/reading further textures.
Disabling gl_precache obviously allows me to play the game, but "WADs" like "Total Chaos" are unfortunately stuttering.
You can definitely do something about it to prevent these crashes.
Regards.
Yeah, old pesky error...
gl_precache enabled with Vulkan engine will cause a program to crash even faster.
This error will always occur if you "clog" your GPU VRAM.
For example, massive anti-aliasing or texture scaling set too high.
Usually it won't crash under OpenGL, but it will slow down the game a lot, as textures will start loading into RAM
I have a graphics card with a lot of VRAM, but the program crashes anyway with Vulkan.
gl_precache is a useful function as it store textures into VRAM and the game runs fine without stuttering/reading further textures.
Disabling gl_precache obviously allows me to play the game, but "WADs" like "Total Chaos" are unfortunately stuttering.
You can definitely do something about it to prevent these crashes.
Regards.