[Can't fix] bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Omar09 » Wed Jun 09, 2021 9:35 am

i tried to use some 3d models packs for vr back when gzd 4.5 was released (viewtopic.php?f=4&t=64397 and viewtopic.php?f=37&t=56344) and they worked great, now when i use the same modelpacks on gzd 4.6 they have quite a bit of issues (https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... nknown.png and https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... nknown.png sorry for not putting actual screenshots in the thing just links to images) also another thing is that the pbr materials for classic doom (https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/1 ... -textures/) works great with gzd 4.5 but with gzd 4.6 it just doesnt work, so now im just wondering why these mods dont work properly or just dont work at all with the newest gzdoom, cheers!
Omar09
 
Joined: 12 Jul 2020

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jun 10, 2021 1:21 am

First of all, do not put unrelated reports into one topic. There is a high chance that some of issues will be missed.

The problem with models was introduced by this commit, merge of Dynamic number of models per actor PR. That's why I moved this topic to Bugs.
I didn't notice any differences between 4.5.0 and 4.6.0 with the provided PBR textures. Please post screenshot(s) where the difference is seen clearly.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jun 10, 2021 1:30 am

That thing again? What did it do this time?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:14 am

It appears that the model definitions in those mods are... very incorrect. Models are split into several sub-models rather than using surface skins, but only the first model is ever assigned in most frames.

I would say you can blame GZDoom for being "more correct" now in handling what was clearly unintended behavior.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:31 am

This depended on multiple definitions overwriting the same static data. Problem: The static arrays no longer exist.
Sorry, I'm not going to try fixing such inept definitions. It's a textbook case of "how to not do stuff..."
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:35 am

If author of the mentioned PR initialized all variables, those models would still work. I'll push the fix soon.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:40 am

Ok, good to know.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: bugs with ye old ds models and pbr textures on gzd 4.6

Postby Cherno » Thu Jun 10, 2021 9:13 am

I believe the same thing was reported here:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=71850&p=1185231#p1185231

and it's the same issue, mod developers plinly disregarding what the MODELDEF wiki article says.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests