build levels

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

build levels

Post by cccp_leha »

(How) can you run them with 47i?
Cyb
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm

Post by Cyb »

extract the map with xwe or something else that can open grp files and then simply run it with the -file option. with 47i it won't be textured, but in the future you'll be able to use -art artfile.art and it'll be textured properly

of course what this really does is convert the build map to hexen format (in memory) and then run that map, so any build specific stuff won't show, though you can do dumpmap mapname.wad in console (I believe that's the correct command) and write it to disk (it won't write any things though) and then mess with that in a doom editor
User avatar
Zell
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:47 am
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Post by Zell »

does that mean those fake floors lke in Duke3D are now possible?
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by cccp_leha »

So which map is it on? And do you save as .lmp, .wad, or .map?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Post by wildweasel »

Save it as a .MAP file.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Zell wrote:does that mean those fake floors lke in Duke3D are now possible?
No. That would be one of the "build specific" features that Cyb is talking about.
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by cccp_leha »

wildweasel wrote:Save it as a .MAP file.
and then? :)
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

Actually, I think it was broken in 47i. If it's working, you just add the .map file to the command line as if it were a .wad, and then you use the map console command to switch to it.

i.e. For E1L1, start the game with:

Code: Select all

zdoom -file e1l1.map
Then open the console and type

Code: Select all

map e1l1
You can also use wildcards with -file, so the following will load all .map files in the current directory:

Code: Select all

zdoom -file *.map
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by cccp_leha »

DAMN that looks funky; although I expected nothing less. Thanks randy.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Do weirdo slopes -- that is, something very complicated to implement with Slope Things/Linedefs work?

Return to “General”