LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Sunbeam »

This is LiveReverb, which gives dynamic reverb to all existing Doom maps!
Also works for Heretic and Hexen.

Requires GZDoom 3.0.0 or newer.





DOWNLOAD:
HERE!


If you want to get in contact, there's a Discord server for my mods and projects:
DISCORD
Also Twitter!



Also check out:
BorderDoom: Doom with Borderlands gameplay elements
Deformed Doom: deform any Doom map!
User avatar
ValeriePalerie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:10 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by ValeriePalerie »

This is really impressive! How easy would it be to force the effect to ignore specific sounds/sources? For example the heartbeat noise in Hideous Destructor.
Valken
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:32 am

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Valken »

You don't know how happy I am! After playing PSX Doom TC and GEC's version, I wished normal doom would have allowed this! Thank you so much!!!
User avatar
Dr_Cosmobyte
Posts: 2768
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:07 pm
Location: Killing spiders.

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Dr_Cosmobyte »

I'm a a sucker for reverb, this goes to my autoload forever.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6184
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Caligari87 »

ValeriePalerie wrote:This is really impressive! How easy would it be to force the effect to ignore specific sounds/sources? For example the heartbeat noise in Hideous Destructor.

Not possible to my knowledge. As far as I can tell, this works by spawning a SoundEnvironment thing at the player's location, based on distance checks performed by spawning a FastProjectile. Sound environments affect the entire sound effects processing chain.
Spoiler:
8-)
User avatar
ValeriePalerie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:10 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by ValeriePalerie »

Caligari87 wrote: Not possible to my knowledge. As far as I can tell, this works by spawning a SoundEnvironment thing at the player's location, based on distance checks performed by spawning a FastProjectile. Sound environments affect the entire sound effects processing chain.
Ah, bummer, good to know at least, thanks!
User avatar
Ribo Zurai
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:47 pm

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Ribo Zurai »

This is really cool! I wonder if echoes could also be possible in incredible large, open enviroments?
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Sunbeam »

ValeriePalerie wrote:This is really impressive! How easy would it be to force the effect to ignore specific sounds/sources? For example the heartbeat noise in Hideous Destructor.
As Caligari87 said I also don't think this is possible. However I think there IS a way to make some sounds not be affected by "sound environments". Some things like HUD sounds (like chat messages) seem to be unaffected. I haven't looked into this, but maybe changing the way those sounds are defined might give you the wanted result.
Valken wrote:You don't know how happy I am! After playing PSX Doom TC and GEC's version, I wished normal doom would have allowed this! Thank you so much!!!
Actually (G)ZDoom allowed this for quite some time. However mappers would have to set up their maps by hand, which probably not many people did. Also this would not have affected previously existing maps. That's why this mod is dynamic! 🙂
Dr_Cosmobyte wrote:I'm a a sucker for reverb, this goes to my autoload forever.
Me too!
Caligari87 wrote:OP, I noticed you used ACS + DECORATE for this. While functional, I believe there's more possibilities here with ZScript. Would you be open to "upgrading" the code? Alternative, if you want to keep the ACS + DECORATE for backwards compat, would you mind if I re-implemented the same idea in ZScript? I've been thinking about this same thing for a long time but I don't want to step on any toes since you've done it first.
ZScript would probably allow for a cleaner implementation. However you are right, I tried to stay backwards compatible.
I can't stop you, can I? 😉 Go for it if you want.
Ribo Zurai wrote:This is really cool! I wonder if echoes could also be possible in incredible large, open enviroments?
There is reverb in outdoor areas. If you want different reverb effects you could either try to find other "sound environments" (some are predefined in GZDoom) or you could create completely new ones (which I avoided in this mod).
User avatar
A_D_M_E_R_A_L
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:55 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by A_D_M_E_R_A_L »

This is actually amazing. This goes into my autoload.
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Sunbeam »

Sounds good! I wouldn't mind some feedback once you tried it a bit. 👍
User avatar
Doomguy914
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Doomguy914 »

You guys are just about running out of immersion enhancing mods to tackle. I'm waiting for the real-life pain emulation hardware and software now. :lol:
User avatar
Dr_Cosmobyte
Posts: 2768
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:07 pm
Location: Killing spiders.

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Dr_Cosmobyte »

Okay, so:

i DO BELIEVE (though it might need further testings), that this mod does not work with the midi-silencer hack, by Kinsie. I used to play it with so i wouldn't need to change my music volumes everytime.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7402
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Kinsie »

This is really goddamn impressive, great job!
Sunbeam wrote:
Caligari87 wrote:OP, I noticed you used ACS + DECORATE for this. While functional, I believe there's more possibilities here with ZScript. Would you be open to "upgrading" the code? Alternative, if you want to keep the ACS + DECORATE for backwards compat, would you mind if I re-implemented the same idea in ZScript? I've been thinking about this same thing for a long time but I don't want to step on any toes since you've done it first.
ZScript would probably allow for a cleaner implementation. However you are right, I tried to stay backwards compatible.
I can't stop you, can I? 😉 Go for it if you want.
You've actually done a pretty darn good job of stopping this, by not including the source code to the ACS script! Would it be possible for you to sneak that into the PK3 in an update? Thanks!
Dr_Cosmobyte wrote:Okay, so:

i DO BELIEVE (though it might need further testings), that this mod does not work with the midi-silencer hack, by Kinsie. I used to play it with so i wouldn't need to change my music volumes everytime.
Works fine here. See if using the -nomusic command line parameter does the same thing for you.
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Post by Sunbeam »

Doomguy914 wrote:You guys are just about running out of immersion enhancing mods to tackle. I'm waiting for the real-life pain emulation hardware and software now. :lol:
Does that mean Doom has reached its "final form"? 😉
Kinsie wrote:This is really goddamn impressive, great job!
Thank you very much! 🙂
Kinsie wrote:You've actually done a pretty darn good job of stopping this, by not including the source code to the ACS script! Would it be possible for you to sneak that into the PK3 in an update? Thanks!
Oh, I thought he might have already figured out everything by himself (by looking at the Decorate). Also I thought there were some quite capable ACS decompilers... But anyway, if there's interest I can provide the code. Here it is! 🙂
(A semi-clean version of the code)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
luisgph
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:27 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: What is wrong with you im here

¡Incredible!

Post by luisgph »

this mod its impressive, well is some simple scripts and with that is created something awesome thank you sunbeam: for getting this mods simple but awesome :)

Return to “Gameplay Mods”