LZDoom 3.85 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

Notice: This will be the last version supporting WinXP.

Download Fixes/features since 3.84
  • Added native support for 4 XInput controllers for fake splitscreen.
  • Added support for several default control layouts.
  • Minor things here and there too esoteric to mention.
  • A lot of stuff from GZDoom: sound refactor, ZMusic, exit cleanup...
Details
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

I forgot to mention the texture colorization feature is not included. For now i'm sticking to OpenAL 1.19, 1.20 was not compatible with WinXP.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48041
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Updated the links on the downloads page.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

Thanks. I was waiting for the mac version but it wasn't still up a while ago.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 976
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Redneckerz »

Thank you for this update, drfrag :) Ill be moving over to this latest as soon as possible.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

You're welcome.
The forum index page still links to 3.84.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12957
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Rachael »

drfrag wrote:The forum index page still links to 3.84.
Whoops. Fixed. I sometimes forget to update that.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

Thanks.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by ReX »

All works as expected. Thanks.
User avatar
Daniel
Posts: 811
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 pm

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Daniel »

Hi dear drfrag! THANK YOU forever for this awesome new version!! We are having so much fun playing splitscreen here! This is really a dream that came true! I'll return soon to post a video from LZDoom running here, including on a GPD Pocket.
User avatar
Daniel
Posts: 811
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 pm

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Daniel »

Here follows a brief video:
Spoiler:
I've made a small batch file with two INI files to launch two instances of LZDoom with the desired wads/mods. If someone is interested on these files, just let me know.
Cheers! :cheers:
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

Thanks. Cool, glad it's working for you. :)
User avatar
Daniel
Posts: 811
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 pm

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by Daniel »

Hi dear drfrag!

I've noticed that LZDoom has some kind of "visplane limitation". It's very good to keep PCs with low CPU and memory running ok. Is there any command/cvar to configure it?
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by drfrag »

Those are the render cull options and there are sliders under Display options->Software/OpenGL renderer.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: LZDoom 3.85 released

Post by ReX »

The only issue I'm having is that I am simply unable to edit the .ini file to recognize the path to the IWAD. Here is what I'm using:

# Each directory should be on a separate line, preceded by Path=
[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=C:\Files\DooM\DOOM2.WAD
Path=$HOME
Path=$PROGDIR

In the end I simply copied the IWAD into the LZDooM directory (folder) to test LZDooM out. But it would be nice not to have duplicate the IWADS in the LZDooM folder.

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”