[Fixed] [4.2.3] Custom Intermission TextScreens don't take $ lookup

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[4.2.3] Custom Intermission TextScreens don't take $ lookup

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:19 pm

https://zdoom.org/wiki/MAPINFO/Intermission_definition

I don't know if it's by design or not, but I cannot use strings in an intermission TextScreen like so:

Code: Select allExpand view
Intermission EndEpisode1
{
   TextScreen
   {
      Background = "graphics/intermission/ep1/end1.png"
      Music = "D_HOPE"
      Text = "$TXT_E1_ENDSCREEN"
   }
}


It will just print "$TXT_E1_ENDSCREEN" even if it's defined in LANGUAGE.enu or any other language text file.

I have to use a TextLump, which makes the text not translatable.

I was advised to post it as a bug. If it is by design I'd really like an option to do this via a text lookup string for translation purposes.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.2.3] Custom Intermission TextScreens don't take $ loo

Postby _mental_ » Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:04 am

From what I'm seeing in code, "$..." lines are handled correctly. Could you please post a runnable sample?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [4.2.3] Custom Intermission TextScreens don't take $ loo

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Oct 27, 2019 2:52 am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0vo7xhi2tf88f ... t.wad?dl=1

Run DOOM.WAD, play through E1M1 and exit... it should display the text string but it doesn't.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.2.3] Custom Intermission TextScreens don't take $ loo

Postby _mental_ » Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:44 am

Fixed in 958b52d.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest