Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Tormentor667 »

Dear developers,

I am using a sector-based skybox (sector special 90, GZDoom skybox) in my map and the ambient occlusion portal level is set to two. Unfortunately the ambient occlusion is also applied to the skybox even though it shouldn't be, check the screenshot for an example.



Bug or wrong setup?
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by dpJudas »

There used to be a check if the portal being drawn was a skybox and if it were then it wouldn't run SSAO on it. I guess it must have been accidentally removed during one of the refactors of that code.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Graf Zahl »

He said "sector built". I don't think these get handled properly by the AO pass.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3855
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Marisa the Magician »

If it's a cube why not make a proper skybox in gldefs?

And if there is other geometry inside it, you could just make it a "recursive" skybox. Where the rest of the map uses skybox pickers to have that as its sky, and then the sector sky itself would have its sky set to the gldefs skybox.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17326
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Nash »

Yeah this is why I avoid fake skyboxes, as in - a physically square sector with textures applied.

As Marisa said, use real skyboxes (the GLDEFS one). If you need geometry, you can do them recursively. Skyboxeption!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Graf Zahl »

These recommendations are just stupid, considering that this style of skybox is an official engine feature. What needs to be done is to disable SSAO on any skybox portal being rendered from an appropriately tagged sector.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Tormentor667 »

dpJudas wrote:There used to be a check if the portal being drawn was a skybox and if it were then it wouldn't run SSAO on it. I guess it must have been accidentally removed during one of the refactors of that code.
I think that is what the “GZDoom Skybox Sector Special” was meant for, but it doesn’t work.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3855
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I'm currently in the process of fixing this, see this thread. AO on skyboxes would be disabled by default and need to be enabled explicitly through a mapinfo flag.
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by sinisterseed »

I was just about to make another thread about this, glad I didn't have to.

I experienced an identical issue when I played ZDCMP2, strange square-like lines on the sky. I assumed it was a mapping error or some strange video artifact initially, but apparently it's not. This really ruins the skies if you ask me, so I'm glad it's getting addressed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Graf Zahl »

ZDCMP'2's skybox is actual sector geometry, that won't be fully fixable.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Enjay »

Purely out of interest, I'm wondering why the skybox in the OP is made from a sector anyway. Isn't it just a cube with textures applied to the sides? If so, why not define it in GLDEFS?
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Tormentor667 »

Enjay wrote:Purely out of interest, I'm wondering why the skybox in the OP is made from a sector anyway. Isn't it just a cube with textures applied to the sides? If so, why not define it in GLDEFS?
Because you can add dynamic objects to such a sector-based skybox or alter the textures of said sector. There are so many possibilities if it is sector-based.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Enjay »

So it isn't just a simple cube then - it has dynamic elements too. Got it. :)

BTW, if all you want to do is change a GLDEFS skybox texture, that can be done using the usual changesky ACS command and the name of the skybox as defined in GLDEFS. I've done it several times myself.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Ambient Occlusion in the GZDoom skybox

Post by Tormentor667 »

Yes, but adding weather effects or models into the skybox is a bit trickier :)

Return to “OpenGL Renderer Bugs”