implement taking screen shots in menus

Like feature suggestions, but you've actually written code to make it happen. More likely to make it into the game than some random request in feature suggestions.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please see Code submission guidelines

GZDoom Status:
Image

Legacy Status:
Image Image

QZDoom Status:
Image
User avatar
m8f
 
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)

implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by m8f »

What does this do?
It allows taking screenshots when a menu is open. Works in main menu, option menus, Strife dialogs, etc.



Limitations:
L1. "Captured screenshot..." message doesn't appear if the level is not started yet. The screen shot is still taken.
L2. Some keys are not supported:
L2.1. because they are used by menus: arrow keys, Enter, etc.
L2.2. because I didn't found how to process them: keypad keys.
L3. If screenshot key is bound to a key that also has a meaning for main menu (for example, 'N' selects "New Game"), first press of this key do the menu action, and the second press will make a screen shot.

Taking screenshots in menus has been mentioned several times by now: 1, 2.

This is not a clean solution. I'm almost sure that this won't be accepted due to this implementation's hacky nature.
Still, this can be a starting point for a discussion.

Pull request here.
User avatar
m8f
 
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by m8f »

Should I try to improve this, or it's a lost case?
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8094
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by Major Cooke »

Less of a lost case and more of devs just being busy or have other priorities.
Just ask Marisa.

But this certainly is intriguing!
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by drfrag »

I've posted a message @GitHub. The feature looks interesting. Why do you say is hacky?
drfrag wrote: You should add a default case to the switch to return 0. You don't need the Fx function keys, those are used for something else in game. For the keys with a different function in menus i'd ignore them, the screenshot should not be taken. Couldn't you add a Printf to print the message when in menus?
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by drfrag »

Since it seems there was no interest and also there was a conflict i've gone ahead and merged it as is. :)
It's GPL v3 so yes i've "sucked" the code :mrgreen: . Hope there's no offense.
It required some low level support for the print screen key and i've made some cosmetic changes too. You still could make another PR to enhance it.
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/commits/g3.3mgw
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: implement taking screen shots in menus

Post by Graf Zahl »

I didn't merge the code because it was unfinished and 'dirty' according to the author. That's a first grade guarantee that I won't use it.

Return to “Code Submissions”