Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
Urthur
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:19 pm

Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by Urthur »



The sky in this map is a dome with a scolling texture. Vertical glitches appear in the (8bit) Doom Software Renderer in GZDoom 3.7.1
Additionally the edges of sloped surfaces sometimes have visible texture glitches.

No such artifacts appear in the GL or True Colour Software Render, or in ZDoom 2.8.1
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by wildweasel »

What WAD/map, and what are your coordinates (use IDMYPOS)?
User avatar
Urthur
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by Urthur »

It's a map I'm presently working on. Artifacts appear regardless of position or orientation.
User avatar
Urthur
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by Urthur »

Probably overdue, but here's a link to the demo.
https://www.moddb.com/mods/dimension-of ... gic-teaser
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by drfrag »

No idea of what's going on but this thing is old, also happened in 3.3.2 but not in ZDoom32 (it's not the floatification). But there's another problem with disappearing sprites and lower performance with models enabled.
Probably it's the same issue as this one: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=62417
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13084
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by Rachael »

drfrag wrote: but not in ZDoom32 (it's not the floatification).
What happens when you compile without ASM support? (Should be in the list when you run cmake-gui - you might want to create a new build folder for this test, as changing defines recompiles the whole project)
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Post by drfrag »

Ouch! They are there, there's no need to recompile as only the non GL exe uses ASM in order to link the main one (SSE2) with SAFESEH.

Return to “Classic ("Carmack") Software Renderer Bugs”