[SOLVED] HI-Res FONTS?

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Finland

[SOLVED] HI-Res FONTS?

Post by ::Bloodfury:: »

Hello you all.

So I currently struggle with the font development of my game.
Main idea is to make the font character graphics twice as large in size or maybe more,
for more detailed letters and glyphs. (Clearly visible cracks and such.)

Now the next step is to scale these larger letters and glyphs to the size
of around classic 8x8px size. Giving them the oldschool fps game letters size, but in greater detail.

However, as I try to use TEXTURES definition to set a new scaling for each and every glyph.
The result is not what you expect. No scaling happens what so ever. And what is even more
odd. All the glyphs given the new x/y scaling seem to disappear from view in game. They do
not show up withing the text and during pickup messages.

I'm using a method that I thought should have worked.

For example a uppercase A:

Code: Select all

graphic, STCFN065,  35, 44
{
     XScale 2.0
     YScale 2.0
}
This does not scale the graphics. Just "removes" the letters in game.
So what is the proper way to do this?

I know you can scale your hudmessage size and everything via scaling options,
but this is not what I am after. I want the fonts of my game use the default scale of things.
And be hardwired to look like that in default.
(Oddly enough in main menus, the letters are present but not scaled.)

My goal is to do this for the big and smallfont respectively.
Hopefully you understood what I am after. :'D



Thank you already in advance! :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ::Bloodfury:: on Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: HI-Res FONTS?

Post by Blue Shadow »

::Bloodfury:: wrote:For example a uppercase A:

Code: Select all

graphic, STCFN065,  35, 44
{
     XScale 2.0
     YScale 2.0
}
This does not scale the graphics. Just "removes" the letters in game.
What you're doing there is just creating a definition of a graphic, but not telling the engine what it should use as the "base" graphic(s). See [wiki=TEXTURES#Patch]here[/wiki].

Also, there shouldn't be a comma after graphic.
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Finland

Re: HI-Res FONTS?

Post by ::Bloodfury:: »

Yeah the comma was just a mistake I made when writing that.
But thank you for pointing that base graphic thing out. Gave the graphic
a patch property with a corresponding characters sprite and it worked. :)

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”