Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Guest

Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Guest »

Hello !

For some reason, I can't see any sprites (Enemies, Barrels...) on Doom 1 & 2 when I activate Open GL as a rendering engine. They exist but they're completely invisible.

Game worked fine a few months ago so I'm not sure it's linked to the ATI issue.

My drivers (AMD 18.7.1) and GZ Doom (Vanilla 3.4.1) are up-to-date.

Is there a known solution for this ?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21590
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by wildweasel »

What are the rest of your system specs?
Guest

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Guest »

Windows 10
Intel Core i5 6500
Motherboard : MSI B150M MORTAR
AMD Radeon R9 390
8Go RAM
Cacodemon345
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Cacodemon345 »

Rollback your AMD drivers back to 18.6.1. That's the best you can do for now. Wait for AMD to update their drivers and fix the problem.
User avatar
R4L
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by R4L »

Cacodemon345 wrote:Rollback your AMD drivers back to 18.6.1. That's the best you can do for now. Wait for AMD to update their drivers and fix the problem.
I can confirm this to be the solution. Fortnite complained that my drivers had issues, and to update to the beta AMD drivers. That broke GZDoom though, and I'd rather have that working anyway. :lol:
Guest

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Guest »

Nice to know that it isn't just me.

I can't get the enemies and items to show up no matter what I do, not even changing to software rendering helps, they remain invisible. The only way I can play OG Doom right now is if I use Zandronum. I'd rather not, because I can't play that in VR that I'm aware of.

It's super annoying, because I'm doing a complete VR playthrough of Doom, Doom II, and Final Doom, and I literally just started Final Doom the day this happened. I left town for ten days on business, and got back to find that my game is basically hosed thanks to this problem. I can't find any in game settings that will fix it and a driver rollback seems to be my only option.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48543
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Graf Zahl »

Betsy Brivingridge wrote:Nice to know that it isn't just me.

I can't get the enemies and items to show up no matter what I do, not even changing to software rendering helps
What?
If not even software rendering helps it must be something else, because they are drawn by CPU code which isn't affected by driver bugs.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3113
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by drfrag »

Actually the MinGW build shows sprite problems with both renderers on certain cards.
Betsy Brivingridge wrote:The only way I can play OG Doom right now is if I use Zandronum
Do you mean the old GL renderer is not affected? Curious, then you could use ZDoom32 as well (of course no VR) but a driver rollback is in order.
Guest

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Guest »

It's a weird problem and definitely the latest AMD driver causing it.

I can confirm a roll back fixed everything. I ran through about half of Plutonia with Brutal Doom installed last night in VR after rolling back, and messed around with it on a regular screen for a bit as well just to confirm everything was working properly once I rolled back to the old driver.

I use ZDL to launch GZDoom and Zandronum, but confirmed that it wasn't ZDL causing the issue by launching GZDoom separately from the GZDoom standalone exe. I'm also sure I have the latest versions of ZDL and GZDoom. I also disabled all mods just to be sure that wasn't a factor.

I don't know why GZDoom doesn't work with the latest AMD driver exactly. I did confirm that messing with the software rendering setting in GZDoom didn't fix the issue. All the sprites were still missing from the game no matter what I did in the in game settings.

Whatever it is that is breaking sprites in GZDoom, it's definitely the new AMD GPU driver that is causing it as a rollback instantly made the problems go away, and it doesn't affect anything but GZDoom as far as I can tell. I ran Doom in Zandronum, the Doom 3 BFG edition version, and the Steam standalone version, and they all worked as they should.
User avatar
AL-97
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by AL-97 »

Unfortunately, the problem still hasn't been solved, even by the latest AMD Radeon Adrenalin 18.8.2 update. To anyone affected, like myself, I urge you to send a bug report: http://www.amdsurveys.com/se/5A1E27D23A3DE966.
Klemc
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:01 pm

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Klemc »

I have this problem since MAP06 (Doom2).

Posted on doomworld.com so i won't make a copy of the post but link to it instead.

It concerns only :

"Former Commando" alias "ChaingunGuy" are invisible (totally). "Arachnotron" too.

On MAP07 "Mancubus" alias "Fatso" also (totally, but i see projectiles).

Last post from today ; with image (it popups, can't miss the post) :
https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/1 ... instances/
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48543
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Graf Zahl »

PLease don't bump old threads for new problems!
Klemc
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:01 pm

Re: Invisible sprites on GZ Doom OpenGL mode

Post by Klemc »

It seems it was only load order due to Neural Upscale (PMed Graf Zahl)

Return to “Technical Issues”