[2D_Refactor] r_clearbuffer doesn't work in TC software

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13084
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

[2D_Refactor] r_clearbuffer doesn't work in TC software

Post by Rachael »

r_clearbuffer no longer clears the buffer in the following vid_rendermodes: 1, 2, 3

It does however work in 0 and 4.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48326
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [2D_Refactor] r_clearbuffer doesn't work in TC software

Post by Graf Zahl »

From the looks of it this never got implemented in the poly renderer, so modes 2 and 3 are hardly surprising.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48326
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [2D_Refactor] r_clearbuffer doesn't work in TC software

Post by Graf Zahl »

Fixed render mode 1. Yet again the base palette's unset alpha was the cause. If the software renderer didn't access the palette in seemingly a thousand places I'd just change that but knowing where that code came from I'm uncertain.

Return to “Classic ("Carmack") Software Renderer Bugs”