Moving Collison boxes

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Collegia Titanica

Moving Collison boxes

Post by Collegia Titanica »

I'm very new to this, just started learning like 2 weeks ago, I've nearly completed my unit and it's exactly as I planned, with the exception of hitboxes.

Since it's a rectangular object, I need additional boxes spawned in the front and back. IT works for a non-moving object perfectly, as the invisible squares and the original model size matches the visual quite nicely.

Code: Select all

TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("Collision", 54, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SXF_NOCHECKPOSITION)
		TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("Collision", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SXF_NOCHECKPOSITION)
		TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("Collision", -54, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SXF_NOCHECKPOSITION)
However, I need the same but on a moving target. I've briefly skimmed over the forum, and have seen this response which is kind of unclear to me :
"Spawning something every frame? What is this, the ice age? :P The collider would be spawned only once, storing its "spawner" in a pointer. ZScript lets you do this stuff conveniently. Yeah, sure the actor count would go up, but you don't have to spawn something every frame is my point."
So how do I go about this ? Can anyone guide me or even write something which I can add to my actor ?