Trouble with custom fonts (SOLVED)

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
Exosphere
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:42 am
Location: New England, US

Trouble with custom fonts (SOLVED)

Post by Exosphere »

As the title states, I've been have some trouble with implementing custom fonts. I've been testing the number font from the ICARUS wad in my mod, and even with using the ZDoom wiki in how to create the necessary lump, the new font still wont appear for some reason. I've tried having the font as .lmp and .png, yet neither work.

Here is the code form the FONTDEF file.

Code: Select all

STATUSFONT
{
0 STTNUM0
1 STTNUM1
2 STTNUM2
3 STTNUM3
4 STTNUM4
5 STTNUM5
6 STTNUM6
7 STTNUM7
8 STTNUM8
9 STTNUM9
% STTPRCNT
- STTMINUS
	
NOTRANSLATION 109
}
Any thoughts?
Last edited by Exosphere on Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48597
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Trouble with custom fonts

Post by Graf Zahl »

No data, so no thoughts. I'm not a mind reader and cannot look into your unposted mod.
User avatar
Exosphere
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:42 am
Location: New England, US

Re: Trouble with custom fonts

Post by Exosphere »

Graf Zahl wrote:No data, so no thoughts. I'm not a mind reader and cannot look into your unposted mod.
I don't mean to sound rude, but what else do I need to include? There doesnt seem like anything else that would be necessary in my mind, however I should mention that all the font files (the .lmp files) are located in a folder, and the FONTDEF is outside the folder. Here is the basic file structure of my mod:

Code: Select all

Models (FOLDER)
Sprites (FOLDER) -----> The font files are in here
Decorate (FOLDER)
ACS (FOLDER)
Sounds (FOLDER)
README.txt
MODELDEF
DECORATE
GAMEINFO
GLDEFS
SNDINFO
KEYCONF
LOADACS
FONTDEFS
DEHACKED.lmp
TEXTURES

Although, I can send you a PM with my mod. I know this will sound stupid, but I am slightly hesitent to post my mod openly on the forums, even in its incomplete state.
User avatar
Sarah
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 11 (bullseye), Windows 10
Location: Middle of Nowheresville Il.

Re: Trouble with custom fonts

Post by Sarah »

Try moving the font files to a "graphics" folder.
User avatar
Exosphere
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:42 am
Location: New England, US

Re: Trouble with custom fonts

Post by Exosphere »

Nero wrote:Try moving the font files to a "graphics" folder.
That did the trick! Thank ya! Just so I know for the future, should I put all pngs/lmps for fonts, and other HUD/UI stuff, in the "Graphics" folder from now on?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Trouble with custom fonts

Post by Kappes Buur »

Graf Zahl's comment stands, simply because you did not furnish enough information in your inital post.
How were we supposed to know which format you used for your map, which then became clear with your next post.

But yes, for the zip or pk3 format,
custom font images, doom format, png, etc. go into GRAPHICS.
Then the fonts you want to use are specified in FONTDEFS.

Likewise with sounds,
custom sounds, mp3, flac, ogg, etc, go into SOUNDS.
Then the sounds you want to use are specified in SNDINFO.

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”