[Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

[Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by MaxED »

About:
Mission64 is a Quake 2 for Nintendo 64 recreation attempt for KMQuake 2 engine. The goal is to bring all 19 single-player levels from the game to PC.

Current progress:
The first three maps are complete and playable.

Screenshots:
Spoiler:
Usage:
Extract "mission64" folder from the archive into your Quake 2 folder, then use "mission64/Launch.bat" to play.

Known issues:
For some users the mod crashes during startup, unless KMQuake 2 is launched with administrator privileges.

Sources:
Game data.
Game dll.

Download:
Public test 3
Last edited by MaxED on Wed Aug 24, 2016 4:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by Tormentor667 »

First I thought it's a GZDoom project :)

Looks very good so far MaxEd. Btw, what happened to ReExhumed?
User avatar
Mav3rick
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:48 pm
Location: Hell

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by Mav3rick »

can be use it with another port that is no KM?
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by MaxED »

No. It uses some Lazarus/KMQuake 2 features.
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2841
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by scalliano »

NO FUCKING WAY! :wub:

At long last Q264 finally gets a PC conversion. I have waited for something like this for over a decade. You, sir, are a hero.
User avatar
JimpArgon
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by JimpArgon »

I agree.... This is awesome.

Thank you for sharing.

*edit* finished the first level.... Oh the nostalgia. It hit hard. I do hope you do all the other maps from the N64 version.

Also, I love the title demo that plays when you launch the game.

Image
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by Ghastly »

Very nice! I've always been really bad at playing shooters on controllers, so definitely loving the opportunity to play a set of Quake 2 maps that's been effectively locked off from me. :P
User avatar
cambertian
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 4:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New England Area, USA

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by cambertian »

Had my N64 controller's joystick modded specifically for this version of the game at one point. Still couldn't play it because I suck at FPS games with anything other than a mouse and keyboard...

I'm glad someone finally buckled down, of course. Well done! Can't wait until it's done.
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2841
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by scalliano »

Probably still a bit early, but have a Steam grid:
Image
Okay, I like making Steam grids.
User avatar
JimpArgon
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by JimpArgon »

^ That looks nice man. :thumb:
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2841
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by scalliano »

Cheers, it's just the N64/PS1 box art with a few tweaks.

EDIT: Better one (maybe):
Image
User avatar
YukiHerz
Global Moderator
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:01 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by YukiHerz »

This is pretty nice, not familiar with the n64 version myself because fuck that controller, but for the first map it's pretty much the same as ps1, although i don't think the ps1 had such a hit in texture size.
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2841
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by scalliano »

The first map is where the similarities end. The rest of the game is completely standalone bar one area borrowed from PC Q2 and two from Reckoning. And I do mean areas, not whole levels.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13089
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by Rachael »

Amazing, MaxED! I can't wait to see the rest of it! :)
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Post by MaxED »

Mission 2 is done. Download link is in the first post. Here are some screenshots:
Spoiler:
Also this is a proper mod now. Stuff I've changed:
1. Added Invisibility powerup.
2. Powerups are now used on pickup (like in n64 version).
3. Weapon switching animation now plays 2x faster.
4. Weapons now have select sounds.
5. Added footstep sounds to the most of currently used enemies.
6. Changed HUD to look somewhat more like n64 HUD.

Also both game and dll sources are now on GitHub (I've heard that putting a project on the GitHub immediately attracts flocks of experienced programmers and artists). So... um... if you want to help the project by the means of mapping or coding, you now have the place to flock to. So you can... you know... flock there and do githubby stuffs and things... for science! :shock:

Seriously though, if you know how to map for IDTech2 or are at least slightly familiar with Q2/KMQ2 source, it would be nice if you can contribute in some way.
If you are interested in mapping, I can document the process I use to recreate the maps.
If you are interested in coding, I have no particular requests ATM, but do have some questions regarding KMQ2/Lazarus source.

Return to “Off-Topic”