YoYoDoom: wads in GameMaker -3D update + Texture Mapping-

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

YoYoDoom: wads in GameMaker -3D update + Texture Mapping-

Post by Indecom »

After a lots and lots of programming, and translating of the wad format, I'd like to present to you guys my current project.

Image

GMDoom Plus is the first comprehensive doom wad loader for GameMaker Studio, it's capable of loading image and level data from a wad straight into your GameMaker projects.

Image

The following features are either completely implemented or nearly.
*Load custom palettes
*Load graphics data ( sprites, patches, textures, flats )
*Load level data ( vertexes, linedefs, sectors, things, GL_Nodes )
*Level geometry construction

Image

Todo:
*Finalize GL_Node reading
*Implement basic level collision routines

Image

The main reason I'm posting this here is because in order for me to continue the project, I need a little bit of help deciphering gl_nodes. So far I've done a pretty bangup job of interpreting wad data all on my lonesome, as you can see from the images I've made some pretty big strides in this project. But i'm having issues when it comes to reading the data for GL_Segs from wads that have ran through glbsp version 2.24. The results that I'm getting seem to contradict what's written in the gl_node specifications section on this page: http://glbsp.sourceforge.net/specs.php

Out of curio, are there any developers here on the forum that are experienced enough in the gl_node specifications to possibly point me in the right direction?
Last edited by Indecom on Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:17 pm, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
enderkevin13
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:30 am
Location: :noiƚɒɔo⅃

Re: GMDoom plus: Loading wads into GameMaker -help needed-

Post by enderkevin13 »

Could you provide a video showcasing the key features?
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: GMDoom plus: Loading wads into GameMaker -help needed-

Post by Indecom »

It's not yet worthy of video as all I'm doing is loading up a wireframe map and a few textures. To get level geometry in 3d I need gl_segs to read properly.
User avatar
leileilol
Posts: 4449
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:16 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: GMDoom plus: Loading wads into GameMaker -help needed-

Post by leileilol »

i'd suggest a new name. "GMDoom" is already taken by a more interesting engine crossing project.
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: GMDoom plus: Loading wads into GameMaker -help needed-

Post by Oberron »

Take the GM out, someone may be confused it's a Garry's Mod addon.
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: GMDoom plus: Loading wads into GameMaker -help needed-

Post by Indecom »

At this stage the name is pretty trivial, and easy to change, and when I have the time, I will.

UPDATE:
Finally managed to figure out what was going on in my code and things seem to be working flawlessly yet again! I'd like to say thanks to Coraline for trying to point me in the right direction, as well as randi.

Check out these beautiful gl_segs in action below, the dark gray lines are the slices through each sector that doesnt lie along a linedef:
Image

Now I can pick out individual GL Subsectors for processing, one step closer to having level geometry in engine!
Image
User avatar
darkhaven3
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 5:33 am
Location: East Germany, 2023

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by darkhaven3 »

Interesting. Is this a library/extension, or is it done in GML?
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13549
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Germany

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Tormentor667 »

I wonder what it looks ingame :P
User avatar
Arctangent
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Arctangent »

Tormentor667 wrote:I wonder what it looks ingame :P
It looks like that, because that's what it is.

He hasn't gotten to the point where he's rendering the 3D space, if that's even the goal of the project.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17468
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Nash »

This is very inspiring, I hope to do the same thing for Unreal Engine when I acquire the time and skill (and if someone else hasn't already done a WAD loader yet by then for UE4). Thanks for sharing!

(Offtopic, there's this other project I've been following where the guy is literally making Daggerfall run with the Unity renderer and wrote all of the loaders and stuff, reimplemented all of the game systems and the in-game UIs, very awesome stuff, and it's also playable already... it's called Daggerfall Tools for Unity and it's on GitHub. Seeing stuff like this really pumps me)
User avatar
TheMightyHeracross
Posts: 2100
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by TheMightyHeracross »

I got Gamemaker while it was free but never used it. I should reinstall it if I can.
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Indecom »

I made done pretty big leaps in progress yesterday, it now looks like this:

Image
Image

Up next, textures :)
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17468
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Nash »

What will the availability of this library be? Free or paid?
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Indecom »

It will be free, but of course donations will help speed up development.
User avatar
Indecom
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: YoYoDoom: Loading wads into GameMaker -UPDATE-

Post by Indecom »

And now, Texture Mapping, as well as improved sector lighting which you probably can't see in this image lol

Image

Return to “Off-Topic”