Unlocked 35 FPS

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Unlocked 35 FPS

Postby BBG » Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:46 am

Randy, will there be a way to lock ZDoom at 35 fps in 48.cab? If not, could you please add one. It moves too fast for me and am quite comfortable with 35 FPS.
User avatar
BBG
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Postby Ultraviolet » Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:22 am

If I become a moderator it is this type of trolling that will not be allowed. :-D
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby pritch » Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:38 am

I kind of agree. Sarge and I both feel the uncapped fps takes a lot of the Doomy feel away from it. It's cool, and in certain modern wads appropriate, but it definitely should be switchable.

Of course Nanami thinks we're just moaning heh.
User avatar
pritch
retro doomworlder
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby SargeBaldy » Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:03 am

yes, i definitely do not like it. it honestly makes the game feel more like quake2 than doom. it looks nice and smooth and everything, but doom doesn't. i suppose it looks all right in something like dark7, with fancy new music and slopes galore, but in any vanilla wad it trashes all nostalgic feelings flat. so yeah, i'd like some way to disable it.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Nanami » Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:05 am

120+ FPS rules. =P
User avatar
Nanami
Natdhipytadd
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: That little island pritch created.

Postby Thrasher » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:06 am

I believe adding a switch will be good, just so the player can choose which mode he wants to use. or he can custom adjust it between 35 FPS and the max amount.
Thrasher
I deliver 30 frags, or the next DM is free.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Imperial Moon Base: Thal Vaishet

Postby SargeBaldy » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:20 am

Thrasher wrote:I believe adding a switch will be good, just so the player can choose which mode he wants to use. or he can custom adjust it between 35 FPS and the max amount.
yeah, a value like 40 might work good for me. playing on 1280x1024 i get 60-70, and even that feels ridiculously odd.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:45 am

CL_CAPFPS 1

Though after getting used to an uncapped frame rate, it'll look like a slide show. :)
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby SargeBaldy » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:24 am

Enjay wrote:CL_CAPFPS 1

Though after getting used to an uncapped frame rate, it'll look like a slide show. :)
exactly why i don't want to get used to it :)

although i think it would be nice if we could cap the fps wherever we feel like, rather than going all or none.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby Cyb » Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:28 am

he just told you how to cap the fps... pay attention!
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby SargeBaldy » Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:31 pm

heh, no you should pay attention. that's only a way to set the fps cap on or off. i was asking for a way to set the cap to whatever variable you want.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby randi » Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:41 pm

The cap is either 35 FPS or none at all. Supporting variable caps and actually relinquishing the processor during the unneeded time between frames would require quite a bit of work because network play is highly dependant on the 35 Hz tic rate. Interrupting the renderer to do network processing is easy, but interrupting a wait to do network processing would probably require moving the renderer into a separate thread (or at least a rethinking of the way Doom does things). There is a vid_vsync cvar you can use to cap the framerate to the refresh rate, but for the reasons I specified above, I'm not sure how well it would work with netplay.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2003

Postby SargeBaldy » Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:54 pm

ok, i wasn't sure about the viability of that either. thanks for the explanation though. 35 fps works for me.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
my password is grapefruit6
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Oregon

Postby bimshwel » Fri Jul 18, 2003 11:30 am

I imagine something like a limitless framerate makes it a lot more obvious when an especially active level is slowing the game down. Some people might consider that an accomplishment, though. No, I don't have a point.
User avatar
bimshwel
only as old as I feel, and I feel like dirt
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: misplaced
Discord: bimshwel #7516

Postby Hirogen2 » Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:37 am

randy wrote:The cap is either 35 FPS or none at all. Supporting variable caps and actually relinquishing the processor during the unneeded time between frames would require quite a bit of work because network play is highly dependant on the 35 Hz tic rate. Interrupting the renderer to do network processing is easy, but interrupting a wait to do network processing would probably require moving the renderer into a separate thread (or at least a rethinking of the way Doom does things). There is a vid_vsync cvar you can use to cap the framerate to the refresh rate, but for the reasons I specified above, I'm not sure how well it would work with netplay.

Well, threading is supported on the used OSes (win32,linux); I think there will be no more DOS version like 1.17. Recently, I tried something with GL-117 (http://gl-117.sf.net/), 320x200 lowest quality and it brought me 200fps, which was really too smooth for me -- just a side note.
Cube might be a reference, it runs with a variable FPS (though the user cannot choose) and has to do both rendering+networking.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest