Minimum light level?

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
User avatar
Death Mage
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 3:16 am

Minimum light level?

Post by Death Mage »

Is there a setting, or a mod, that can be used to give a minimum light level to Doom? I'm not looking for the brightness or gamma slider, that makes everything brighter. Most of the game looks just fine as it is. I just need something that'll bump the darkest areas, and only the darkest areas, up a little bit.

There's a few reasons for this. I know "the original intent" and how Doom is "supposed to look". I've been playing this game for thirty years, I had it on floppy disks and in actual DOS gameplay. At this point, my eyes are starting to fail, and I'd just like to be able to KEEP playing my favorite game. I also, personally, find "not being able to see" a cheap, and thus poor, substitute for actual difficulty. The fun of Doom is reacting to the encounters, and being attacked by enemies you simply never see means you can't react to them. So I would like a way to mitigate that. I don't want to just cheat the googles on at all times either, I don't want fullbright. I just want the darkest areas brightened slightly so at leat outlines are visible.

Except for specters, of course. Those buggers are supposed to be a challenge to see. This engine already makes them much easier to see, both with just using transparency, or even its higher res attempt at the original fuzz effect. Just HAVING more pixels makes them easier to see here. Crispy still give me the "where ARE the buggers?" rush on those things.
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Minimum light level?

Post by Rowsol »

I noticed that the new versions removed the sector light options. What a load.
To get around this I have to play with DarkDoomZ now and use the built in option. You can try that.
User avatar
Death Mage
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 3:16 am

Re: Minimum light level?

Post by Death Mage »

I need the opposite of that. The problem is that the dark areas are too dark, not that the rest of the game is too bright.
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Minimum light level?

Post by Rowsol »

DarkDoomZ has settings for everything. I use it to raise the minimum light level.

Return to “Technical Issues”