Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

sirius104xx
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 11:57 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by sirius104xx »

This never used to happen in older versions of GZDoom, but since me and friends updated to a newer version recently, pressing ANY key or mouse button during the intermission screens between maps when playing cooperatively, it skips the intermission. THIS INCLUDES OUR PUSH-TO-TALK BUTTONS! You can see how this would be a problem when trying to talk before starting the next map. Or review the secrets and kill counts.
I don't know why this feature was added to make ALL keys skip the intermission when it never used to be this way. Please put it back the way it used to be. Keys like Space, Enter, Left Mouse Button, perhaps even F since it's used in many games as the "use" key, would be all good keys to skip the intermission screen. But please not all.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6182
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by Caligari87 »

I'm trying to recall the last time this was a problem for me and I can't seem to. I wonder if maybe your chat software is not properly intercepting/blocking your PTT keys, or some related issue.

Regardless, I tend to agree that any key to skip intermission tallies is a bit overkill, and could probably be limited to whatever the player has bound to [Use]. If the old behavior is needed for some reason, it could be a cvar/option toggle under some advanced control settings, perhaps something like "Skip Intermission: [Use | Any Key]"

I'd be interested to hear other people's opinions, as this isn't something I've really thought about before. I just always press [Use].

8-)
User avatar
The DANDY Company
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:51 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by The DANDY Company »

I’m in favor of it just being the Use key for reasons such as what OP said.

-Andarchitect
The DANDY Company
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2709
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by Hellser »

Caligari87 wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 3:53 pm "Skip Intermission: [Use | Any Key]"
Press "Any Key"... which one is the Any Key? :lol:
sirius104xx
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 11:57 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by sirius104xx »

That sounds like a great idea to add such an option under settings! Best of both worlds.

Me and friends like to use push to talk when we stream because at least some of us get too much background noise if we have open mics. One guy lol, he's eating chips or god knows what half the time, we have to yell at him to turn open mic off. But yeah it would be awesome to just have a setting for this.
yum13241
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by yum13241 »

Let's not forget that in Vanilla Doom, the attack key also skipped the intermission. I know there's at least one person out there that presses attack to skip the intermission, and only [USE | Any Key] would break muscle memory.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by Player701 »

Related, but perhaps slightly tangential: since a while ago, keybinds have stopped working on intermission screens. Back then, I often used F9 to quickload my save if I accidentally exited the level without intending to (e.g. by pressing a switch not knowing what it does, or running into an exit linedef by accident), and now I have to navigate the menu or wait until the next level has loaded - both options are a bit inconvenient compared to how it used to work originally.
sirius104xx
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 11:57 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Please remove ANY keys skipping the level intermissions. It breaks push-to-talk in coop.

Post by sirius104xx »

Player701 wrote:
> Related, but perhaps slightly tangential: since a while ago, keybinds have
> stopped working on intermission screens. Back then, I often used F9 to
> quickload my save if I accidentally exited the level without intending to
> (e.g. by pressing a switch not knowing what it does, or running into an
> exit linedef by accident), and now I have to navigate the menu or wait
> until the next level has loaded - both options are a bit inconvenient
> compared to how it used to work originally.


This one I also noticed, but it didn't bother me as much. I do like how in DSDA Doom it still lets you press quickload from intermission or even the start menu! That's an impressive feature. But one I can live without. My main thing is I play often in Coop so DSDA Doom removed the MOST important feature: multiplayer. Lol. So it's useless except when I am practicing new map packs in single player.
Here's hoping GZDoom adds these features requested here.

Return to “Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”