What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

User avatar
Blackgrowl
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 8:47 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

Post by Blackgrowl »

I just can't seem to find it, I want to use it for an autoexec config.

Also, is there a better way of finding cvars other than, well, guessing and trying to find it in the console like I did?
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

Post by Rachael »

To answer your first question - hw_useindexedcolortextures

To answer your second question - look in raze.pk3's menudef.txt. If that fails look for the language entry (in one of the language.* files in raze.pk3) and search for the option item - that gives you its language id that you can then search in menudef.txt (yes, it's a pita and it's multistep but it works).
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

Post by Rachael »

This question made me decide to develop this:
https://github.com/ZDoom/gzdoom/pull/2294

If it gets accepted in GZDoom, it will come to Raze too eventually.
User avatar
Blackgrowl
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 8:47 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

Post by Blackgrowl »

Rachael wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2023 5:19 pm To answer your first question - hw_useindexedcolortextures

To answer your second question - look in raze.pk3's menudef.txt. If that fails look for the language entry (in one of the language.* files in raze.pk3) and search for the option item - that gives you its language id that you can then search in menudef.txt (yes, it's a pita and it's multistep but it works).
Very nice! Glad to see my question sparked a nice new addition not only for Raze but also GZDoom, this is one of the many reasons I love these two sourceports.
Thank you for helping me and making this new feature.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: What is the Console Command for "Palette Emulation"?

Post by Rachael »

You're welcome. :)

Return to “General”