Crash when using Vulkan

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
arus_lightis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2023 8:36 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Crash when using Vulkan

Post by arus_lightis »

GZDoom immediately crashes when having Vulkan as renderer. Which means I can't even change the renderer back from the options menu.

My laptop setup:
Windows 10 22H2 19045.3570
Intel Core i5-6200U
NVidia GeForce 940M 2GB

Error message:
Code: C0000005 (Access Violation - tried to write address 0000000000000000)
Address: 0000000000000000
Flags: 00000000
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Graf Zahl »

Please post the entire crash log, this does not help at all.
arus_lightis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2023 8:36 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by arus_lightis »

Here's the log.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Graf Zahl »

What is your graphics hardware?
humplebert
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2024 10:25 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by humplebert »

I believe I am experiencing the same error. CrashReport.zip and NVIDIA System Summary included.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Redneckerz »

Graf Zahl wrote: Sun Nov 12, 2023 4:17 pm What is your graphics hardware?
Says so in the OP:
Intel Core i5-6200U
NVidia GeForce 940M 2GB
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13612
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Rachael »

humplebert wrote: Tue Jan 23, 2024 10:33 am I believe I am experiencing the same error. CrashReport.zip and NVIDIA System Summary included.
Huh, interesting, I did not know that Microsoft had a Mesa Vulkan fallback.

Needless to say though, it isn't compatible with GZDoom. And either way it's definitely not the right driver for an RTX 4090 on Windows.

Try reinstalling your drivers (from NVidia, directly) and see if that fixes the problem. Make sure to do a system restart afterward.

This one may work: (as of 2024/01/23, please recheck for the latest driver if you are past this date)
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverR ... 927/en-us/
It's a Studio Driver, which means at the very least you don't have to update it as often, they're often tested to be more stable, too, but it might be incompatible with cutting edge games as they are released. (But if you're using GZDoom, that's not relevant at the very moment)
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by SanyaWaffles »

I think I had a similar experience with one of our in-house forks after the latest NVidia Game Ready driver update. I did check with stock GZDoom and it did similarly. It'd crash (Very Fatal Error, not an abort or whatever) if I held the screenshot key at startup (which I have bound to alt). It also caused the splash screen to cover the startup log. This didn't happen before.

I'll check and see if the problem persisted after I reinstall the driver.
User avatar
axredneck
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by axredneck »

SanyaWaffles wrote: Tue Jan 23, 2024 12:39 pm... the screenshot key at startup (which I have bound to alt)...
Looks like a bad idea.
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by SanyaWaffles »

That very may well be, still shouldn't crash.
Uli_S
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2024 10:05 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Uli_S »

I have a similiar issue.
Vulkan worked for me in the past.
But now it's crashing when I try to launch the game using Vulkan.

Intel i7
Geforce GT 1030 2GB
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13612
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Rachael »

Yet another vulkan_dzn.dll crash. Please try updating your display drivers to see if that fixes it.

This is really odd that suddenly there's a bunch of reports coming out against that very .dll with really good hardware - the only thing that this is making clear is that the hardware's own drivers are not at play when these occur.

And the log.rtf confirms this - It's Microsoft's Direct3D12 wrapper.
Uli_S
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2024 10:05 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Uli_S »

Rachael hat geschrieben:
> Yet another vulkan_dzn.dll crash. Please try updating your display drivers
> to see if that fixes it.

I've already updated all device drivers including the Nvidia driver.
Doesn't fix it.

It's not a critical issue for me, since I can run the Doom games even with HD graphics mods at very high framerates using the OpenGL backend.
But for some very intense custom maps (FrozenT.wad) Vulkan could be an performance advantage.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13612
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by Rachael »

I'm looking into this. That layer needs an option to be disabled, I don't have it on my system for some reason so that's making it even more complicated to figure out what's happening.

For those who are affected by this issue: Are you able to start at all in Vulkan? - And if so, can you do me a favour and post a screenshot of the vk_listdevices command?
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Crash when using Vulkan

Post by dpJudas »

If vk_listdevices lists a second device, then launching it with "+vk_device 1" on the command line should make it attempt to boot with the second device.

Return to “Technical Issues”