Can't run Blood - "file too small"

Madface
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2023 7:13 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them

Can't run Blood - "file too small"

Post by Madface »

Hello,

Mac user here. OS Ventura 13.4. I can't get Blood Version 1.0 to run on Raze 1.7.1. I keep receiving this message: "BLOOD.PAL: file too small"

I own the original CD version of Blood, Shadow Warrior, Duke 3D, Nam, and a few other Build games. I can play them all on Raze but Blood.

I have created the Blood subfolder, dumped all the files in there as instructed in this thread (viewtopic.php?t=71962) but to no avail.

My copy of Blood does work on Boxer BTW.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: Can't run Blood - "file too small"

Post by mjr4077au »

You'll need to patch your Blood files to 1.21, RTM files aren't supported.

Even for the other games, I know you can play Duke using the 1.3D file but it's not a tested scenario for us and 1.5 is recommended. Same for SW as well.
Madface
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2023 7:13 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them

Re: Can't run Blood - "file too small"

Post by Madface »

Thanks so much for the info. I'm not sure of a way to get Blood patched on the Mac without running a virtual machine.

Are there any tutorials I've not looked at for patching Blood on Mac? (I checked the Blood Wiki.) Or is there a version I can buy and download? (I'm looking at Gog but I don't know at this time how to open the executable on Mac)

Return to “General”