[Need to upgrade Hexen] Hexenagain - Ending text error?

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11345
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Hexenagain - Ending text error?

Post by Cutmanmike »

When you finish hexen it says unknown message something. Or is it my hexen wad?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

It's probably your version of Hexen.wad (2.0.50 works fine with my hexen.wad). Early versions did not have the lumps win1msg, win2msg and win3msg. These lumps are needed for the end text, so check if your WAD has them.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11345
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

I'll just have to use my imagination then..... Hmm...... HMMMM.....
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

Well, you could upgrade your copy of Hexen.

http://www.doomworld.com/classicdoom/info/patches.php
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11345
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

Aww! I just thought up a really good ending then... *grumble*
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

Heh, well you could still upgrade and then put your own "really good ending" into the winxmsg lumps and have the best of both worlds. :)
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11345
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

Ah forget it... I'll get the upgrade..... But i'll always imagine the ending different MWAHAHAHAA!!
User avatar
Chilvence
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:36 pm

Post by Chilvence »

Koraxse?
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

OMG... that's why I was missing WIN1MSG (and the CLUS*MSG)... well I asked SargeBaldy to send them to me and I went fine again ;)
Damn I do not have a copy of the original Hexen IWAD so patching is not available :/
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

Surely you have a retail copy of Hexen, right?
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

I'm sure he lost the CD.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”