"The solution you provided was incorrect"

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Axensus

"The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Axensus »

I keep getting this captcha-related message every time I try to post as a guest. Sometimes it works on the 2nd try, but when I tried replying to this thread it just kept erroring out forever. Tried both Firefox and Edge just in case it was my Firefox addons messing up, but there was no difference.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6184
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Caligari87 »

The captcha is passive; if you don't see the logo in the bottom right corner it usually means it hasn't validated.

If addons such as noscript or ublock aren't the problem, it could be that you are using a VPN or proxy of some kind or have certain privacy protections enabled in your browser.

8-)
Axensus

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Axensus »

The thing is that I do see the ReCaptcha in the bottom right corner. Weird. I'm not using any VPNs. And I shouldn't have to turn off the native browser protections to make a post as a guest. What's stranger is that I can obviously reply to this thread, but not to the linked thread ever since it got moved to the closed feature suggestions forum.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6184
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Caligari87 »

Odd. Guests do have permissions to post in the closed feature suggestions forum so all I can think is that it's some bug with the captcha then.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6184
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Caligari87 »

Just for sake of curiosity, I've moved the thread back to Feature Suggestions. Let me know if you're able to reply.

8-)
Axensus

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Axensus »

Yep. Seems to work now.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13621
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Rachael »

This might be an issue with the black hole checker. I don't remember exactly where it is in the admin panel and there are additional mods enabled that you can try turning off.
Magnus1972
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2023 9:17 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Magnus1972 »

In case it might help anybody, I had to turn of my ad blockers to be able to post here.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Hellser »

Curious. What adblocker are you using? Been using ublock Origin for ages without any problems...
Axensus

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Axensus »

I am using ublock Origin, but I doubt it's that, given that I have that enabled all the time and am able to post just fine. Unless it's in Closed Feature Suggestions, apparently. Also for the record I am not the poster above you, Hellser. Axensus == Accensus (WHO COULD HAVE IMAGINED). Haven't bothered to make an alt since the specific forums I use allow posting as guest.
Magnus1972
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2023 9:17 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Magnus1972 »

Hellser wrote:
> Curious. What adblocker are you using? Been using ublock Origin for ages
> without any problems...

I use AdBlock and AdBlockPlus together on Firefox, I had to whitelist ZDoom on both to be able to post here.
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Zhs2 »

Adblock and AdblockPlus are technically obsoleted by uBlock Origin (sure they still work, but AdblockPlus is the successor to Adblock and you know AdblockPlus is owned by an ad company now right?)
Axensus

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Axensus »

Upon further inspection I suspect this was a problem brought upon by my Firefox security settings being set to super strict. I'm still not sure why it worked under specific conditions but whatever. Guess this can be closed now. It only shows this message every other attempt now.
Guest

Re: "The solution you provided was incorrect"

Post by Guest »

I am having the same issue.

Return to “ZDoom.org Bugs”