Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Post by SPZ1 »

These two specials have been missing from gzdoom for a long time now. I found that fade in the MAPINFO still works. Though it would be nicer if I could do stuff on a per-sector basis like setting a 3D floor to 'render inside' a blue color representing water. Here look at this pic :
Screenshot_Doom_20210105_094207 (50).jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48657
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Post by Graf Zahl »

What makes you think they are missing?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26472
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Post by Enjay »

Yar, these have been in... well, almost forever. They can be set in ACS and directly in the map in UDMF.

[wiki]Sector_SetColor[/wiki] [wiki]Sector_SetFade[/wiki]
Spoiler:
User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Post by SPZ1 »

Oh wow, sorry you guys.. :oops:

I thought the feature didn't work because of the console commands TestColor and TestFade which have been broken for a long time.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48657
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sector_SetColor and Sector_SetFade

Post by Graf Zahl »

Those commands do not work because they require costly handling inside the renderer which simply isn't worth doing for a pure test feature.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”