
Console command that lists all available maps
Moderator: Raze Developers
-
- Posts: 42
- Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:11 am
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
- Location: Finland
Console command that lists all available maps
Would it be possible to add a console command that lists all available maps at some point, please?
The omission of such a command is really not a problem with Duke and Blood, where the level names are easy (E1L1 for example), but trying to warp between SW maps is difficult with map names such as $bullet and $dozer.

-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
That's why there's a second set of level change commands which only take the episode and level number, they are called "levelstart" (like "map") and "levelwarp" (like changemap)
Most of the time these should be easier to use.
And yes, SW's names are not that well chosen... RR's Route66 add-on has the same problem.
Most of the time these should be easier to use.
And yes, SW's names are not that well chosen... RR's Route66 add-on has the same problem.
-
- Posts: 1349
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
Poorly selected would be an understatement for SW, the file names for the maps make no sense at all, and more often than not, are wholly different from the map's "proper" name.
Last edited by sinisterseed on Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
These are typical development names that stuck because they were not exposed to the user.
-
- Posts: 310
- Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
What's worse is they are hardcoded in the EXE. So $BOAT is not only the name for Hara-Kiri Harbor but also WD's Trolley Yard and TD's Emergency Room.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
Fortunately that's no longer an issue in modern ports. That hard coded table doesn't even exist anymore in Raze. At least that was taken care of right away as one of the very first things in port development so all ports have the same option here - unlike Doom where early ports did nothing with externalizing the map names so there never was a standard - and it has remained an issue that'll never be solved.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
I just added CCMD `listmaps` to list maps as requested in case you still want them. I think it could be handy and was only a few lines.
Code: Select all
]listmaps
$bullet.map
$dozer.map
$shrine.map
$woods.map
$whirl.map
$tank.map
$boat.map
$garden.map
$outpost.map
$hidtemp.map
$plax1.map
$bath.map
$airport.map
$refiner.map
$newmine.map
$subbase.map
$rock.map
$yamato.map
$seabase.map
$volcano.map
$shore.map
$auto.map
$tank.map
$dmwoods.map
$dmshrin.map
$rush.map
$shotgun.map
$dmdrop.map
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
It should list what resource they come from, like GZDoom, although in Build that's probably a lot less likely to apply... 

-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
Do you mean they should list what grp file they come from, or has the addition of the DisplayName resolved that? Happy to work on it further after work, will also check what GZDoom is doing here as well 

-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
In GZDoom this is also listed, yes, bzt with Doom it is far more important to see where a map comes from.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
The best way to achieve that from what I can tell would be to add another var to the MapRecord struct and when each game does its `AllocateMap()` loop, it records the origin of the file.
The problem is each game does everything very differently. Take Duke for instance, the CON interpreter generates the map records. I can probably get the CON file name fairly easily but would have to spend more time to see how I get the underlying grp file info.
The problem is each game does everything very differently. Take Duke for instance, the CON interpreter generates the map records. I can probably get the CON file name fairly easily but would have to spend more time to see how I get the underlying grp file info.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49200
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
No, all the info is in the file system. All it needs to do is check what it has to say about the reported map file name. Have a look at my last commit. 

-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Console command that lists all available maps
Oh, giddy up! That's awesome 
