[0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
Moderator: Raze Developers
Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
[0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
One of eduke32s very useful modding features is the ability to define new game images without .art files using the def command tilefromtexture.
In raze the art loaded this way behaves different and has a transparency glitch where although you can see through, sprites disappear behind these transparent pixels. Same for indexed or RGB .png files, oddly loading .bmp files this way show me the ugly pink pixels instead of any transparency at all.
debug map, and duke3d.def with 1 png, 1 bmp. the map consists of the same image (a broken glass texture) placed around but using the three different methods of loading, (from .art, from tiletotexture both bmp and png) To test unzip contents into duke folder and run "raze.exe -map newboard.map"
added: To be clear, the behaviour of .bmp files with pink drawing is the same in eduke32, I just thought it was worth mentioning. The alpha for .pngs are behaving diferent here.
In raze the art loaded this way behaves different and has a transparency glitch where although you can see through, sprites disappear behind these transparent pixels. Same for indexed or RGB .png files, oddly loading .bmp files this way show me the ugly pink pixels instead of any transparency at all.
debug map, and duke3d.def with 1 png, 1 bmp. the map consists of the same image (a broken glass texture) placed around but using the three different methods of loading, (from .art, from tiletotexture both bmp and png) To test unzip contents into duke folder and run "raze.exe -map newboard.map"
added: To be clear, the behaviour of .bmp files with pink drawing is the same in eduke32, I just thought it was worth mentioning. The alpha for .pngs are behaving diferent here.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
BMPs have no transparent color so that part is hardly surprising.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
So what's wrong here? The transparent parts of the PNG allow everything to be seen that's behind and the BMP, having no transparency looks opaque as it should.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
It's a horrible picture, and a poor bug report.
The transparent sprites you see in the picture [in the OP] are from the .art tiles.
This picture is better.
I have tested some of this with the upscale pack. The plain "texture" command works, but only for tiles that have a base in .art files. If the tile is created new using "tilefromtexture" then the same transparency issue carries over to high res "texture" defined images too.
The transparent sprites you see in the picture [in the OP] are from the .art tiles.
This picture is better.
I have tested some of this with the upscale pack. The plain "texture" command works, but only for tiles that have a base in .art files. If the tile is created new using "tilefromtexture" then the same transparency issue carries over to high res "texture" defined images too.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Photonic on Tue Feb 18, 2020 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
No idea how you manage that, I don't. Where does that monster come from?
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
I put him into the map in OP using mapster. Just tested the "spawn liztroop" command works in raze you can get one running around in that debug map easily. Same happens either way. Only on new tiles created with tilefromtexture in def file.
Like this.
The reason I brought up bmps is because it illustrates that the two methods of loading art behave differently, after all the .art file is just a collection of bitmaps, palette entry 256 is transparent, but the hint is in it not being so when loaded with def files. That pink is not a bug, just a hopefully helpful hint.
Like this.
Code: Select all
tilefromtexture 5000 { file "5000.bmp" }
tilefromtexture 5001 { file "5001.png" }
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
No, you got it wrong about ART files. ART files are not BMP files but raw pixels where 255 is defined to be the transparent color. BMPs do not define a transparent color so the pink is opaque. This is entirely defined and intended behavior.
I still do not get the glitch you experience. What's your hardware?
I still do not get the glitch you experience. What's your hardware?
-
- Posts: 310
- Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
I've got glitchy tilefromtextures as well. Noticable if you load my Powerslave or Life's a Beach pack and turn off truecolor textures. I recorded a short clip of it here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dg19TbaEy4
Edit: This is on an i5-3450 with a GTX 980 running Win 7
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dg19TbaEy4
Edit: This is on an i5-3450 with a GTX 980 running Win 7
Last edited by Phredreeke on Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
Intel core2duo E8400Graf Zahl wrote:I still do not get the glitch you experience. What's your hardware?
OS: Windows 7 (NT 6.1) Build 7601
GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GeForce GT 640/PCIe/SSE2
GL_VERSION: 4.4.0 (Core profile)
GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION: 4.40 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
Max. texture size: 16384
Max. texture units: 32
Max. varying: 124
Max. combined shader storage blocks: 96
Max. vertex shader storage blocks: 16
Resolution: 1280 x 1024
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
That looks very different from mine, your video looks like a form of corruption. On my end hud tiles defined with tilefromtexture render properly, same with my menu font. My bug is only on sprites within the game world.Phredreeke wrote:I've got glitchy tilefromtextures as well. Noticable if you load my Powerslave or Life's a Beach pack and turn off truecolor textures. I recorded a short clip of it here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dg19TbaEy4
Edit: This is on an i5-3450 with a GTX 980 running Win 7
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:34 pm
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
I can reproduce this here. Same conditions, any tilefromtexture image with truecolor off.Phredreeke wrote:I've got glitchy tilefromtextures as well. Noticable if you load my Powerslave or Life's a Beach pack and turn off truecolor textures. I recorded a short clip of it here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dg19TbaEy4
Edit: This is on an i5-3450 with a GTX 980 running Win 7
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 1349
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
Can confirm this as well: https://i.imgur.com/8o1Tvne.pngPhredreeke wrote:I've got glitchy tilefromtextures as well. Noticable if you load my Powerslave or Life's a Beach pack and turn off truecolor textures. I recorded a short clip of it here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dg19TbaEy4
Edit: This is on an i5-3450 with a GTX 980 running Win 7
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
Is this still an issue? AFAIK the cause got fixed a few months back.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
I'll test tonight unless someone else beats me to the punch. The test might not be conclusive until some of the sprite substitution works for the BigFont again as it was one of the things that glitched as well IIRC.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: [0.4.5]user defined art transparency issues
So the glitchiness when turning off true colour tiles doesn't seem to be there. The only issue observed was issues with upscaled HUD sprites as outlined here. Will close this for now, #100 is still open so I guess it'll be worked on in due course .