A way to make headshots?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
MasterOFDeath
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 2024
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 10:58 am

A way to make headshots?

Post by MasterOFDeath »

Think I figured out a method. In decorate, you can specify a few new things that say that at a certain height on the monster, this is the head, so any shot here is an instant kill. Basically, something like a "headheight" paramater that would state where the head is basically. For example, you could put "HEADHEIGHT 50" and another paramater, "HEADTALL", that says how tall the head is in units. So, on a zombieman, "HEADHEIGHT 50" and "HEADTALL 4" would make the center of the head 50 units from the bottom of the sprite, and make it have a diamater up-and-down of 4 units.

I know I make it sound complicated as hell, if you don't understand, just say so and I will try to clarify it a bit more. But if this can be implimented, headshots!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11286
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

hmm...
User avatar
Skeletor
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:35 am

Post by Skeletor »

Sounds like a good idea although it would make the game significantly easier. No harm done as long as it's something that could be switched on or off through the console though.

That said, monsters such as Demons and Cacodemons are pretty much all head so killing them could be pretty easy! Maybe the equivalent of a head-shot for a Cacodemon could be to get him right in the eye... or maybe not.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

This would only work with autoaim off. Since enforcing that is not a real option I see no point in implementing it.

Besides, Doom's collision detection is not precise enough to make this useful.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11286
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

What he said
User avatar
wario
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 7:53 am
Location: netherlands

Post by wario »

i suck without autoaim :cry:
User avatar
Skeletor
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 8:35 am

Post by Skeletor »

I suck WITH autoaim!
User avatar
Vader
Posts: 4241
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by Vader »

Autoaim is lame
(whoa that was a rhyme :D)
User avatar
Belial
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:09 pm

Post by Belial »

I always use autoaim. :(

Oh, wait... That's because I never use mouselook. :D
User avatar
Vader
Posts: 4241
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by Vader »

I can´t even imagine playing a FPS without mouselook anymore
User avatar
Belial
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:09 pm

Post by Belial »

User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

I don't use Autoaim or mouselook. Plus, I jump almost as much as Bouncys avatar which makes me a really crappy aim.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

HobbsTiger1 wrote:I don't use Autoaim or mouselook. Plus, I jump almost as much as Bouncys avatar which makes me a really crappy aim.

How can you even play with both off? You shouldn't be able to aim at anything not at the same height.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

Look up/Look down (I use it in Doom and Heretic/Hexen) plus jumping.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Welcome to the stone age... :?

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”