how to create consecutive maps ?
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:43 am
how to create consecutive maps ?
Hi,
I'm working on GZDoom Builder.
After creating the first map (MAP01), I intend to create a second one that follows the first but I do not know how to follow it when I completed the first!
However, when I clicked on file> new map, i write MAP02 in level name.
Can you help me and explain me more precisely?
thanks
I'm working on GZDoom Builder.
After creating the first map (MAP01), I intend to create a second one that follows the first but I do not know how to follow it when I completed the first!
However, when I clicked on file> new map, i write MAP02 in level name.
Can you help me and explain me more precisely?
thanks
-
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:23 am
- Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
- Location: The Netherlands
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
You can define this with the 'next' keyword in the MAPINFO lump:
The engine will automatically switch to map02 when the player finishes map01 with one of the exit specials https://zdoom.org/wiki/Category:Exit_specials
Code: Select all
map MAP01 "My first map"
{
LevelNum = 1
next = "MAP02"
}
map MAP02 "My second map"
{
LevelNum = 2
next = "MAP03" // and so on
}
-
-
- Posts: 17934
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
Going from MAP01 to MAP02 is the normal, default progression, so you shouldn't even need to do anything special for it to happen. Just put an exit in MAP01 so that it can be actually completed.
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:43 am
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
no the normal progression doesn't work because when i am in the first map MAP01 i use the cheat code
idclev02
it's not the map MAP02 created which appears but the map 02 of the doom wad concerned ?
What is the problem?
idclev02
it's not the map MAP02 created which appears but the map 02 of the doom wad concerned ?
What is the problem?
Last edited by MamieNova on Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
-
- Posts: 17934
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
If the map is MAP01 but in a file named MAP02.WAD, it's easy to believe it's MAP02 while in fact it's really MAP01.
You should open your map 2 wad in SLADE to see how the map is actually named inside.
You should open your map 2 wad in SLADE to see how the map is actually named inside.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49183
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
For maps in the maps/ folder the file name matters.
What you describe only happens if embedded WADs in the root are used, but that method of doing things is strongly discouraged.
What you describe only happens if embedded WADs in the root are used, but that method of doing things is strongly discouraged.
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:43 am
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
Do you have a tuto that explains this ?
I put MAP01.wad and MAP02.wad in a same folder.
And after,it's impossible to launch GZDoom Builder from this folder !
What can i do ?
No sorry,i see my problem:
normally a wad file can contain multiple maps.So,i need to load in ressources only one file wad.
But when i click on open a map,the first map assigned is MAP01.If i click again open a map,the map assigned is MAP02.Ok! but when i click agzain open new map,the map assigned is MAP01! so problem
So 2 questions:
1)How to create severals maps in one wad file ?
2)Why it is no possible,when you open a map,to change tne name of map assigned and to not exceed MAP02?
thanks
I put MAP01.wad and MAP02.wad in a same folder.
And after,it's impossible to launch GZDoom Builder from this folder !
What can i do ?
No sorry,i see my problem:
normally a wad file can contain multiple maps.So,i need to load in ressources only one file wad.
But when i click on open a map,the first map assigned is MAP01.If i click again open a map,the map assigned is MAP02.Ok! but when i click agzain open new map,the map assigned is MAP01! so problem
So 2 questions:
1)How to create severals maps in one wad file ?
2)Why it is no possible,when you open a map,to change tne name of map assigned and to not exceed MAP02?
thanks
-
- Posts: 1562
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
Copy-paste. Open map01.wad and map02.wad side by side in slade and copy all contents of map02.wad into map01.wad. Bam!
Also, when you want to have more maps, repeat this step and remane the map lump to have more maps.
Also, when you want to have more maps, repeat this step and remane the map lump to have more maps.
-
- Posts: 7402
- Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MAP33
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
Alternatively, you could just use the "Save Map Into..." command in Doom Builder.ramon.dexter wrote:Copy-paste. Open map01.wad and map02.wad side by side in slade and copy all contents of map02.wad into map01.wad. Bam!
Also, when you want to have more maps, repeat this step and remane the map lump to have more maps.
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:43 am
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
"Save Map into..." works only with 2 maps in GZDoom Builder.
if i open a third wad file and save it into the same map,it's no possible because that exceed 2 Maps.
What can i do to resolve that?
if i open a third wad file and save it into the same map,it's no possible because that exceed 2 Maps.
What can i do to resolve that?
-
-
- Posts: 26571
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
I don't know enough about DoomBuilder to comment, but have you tried using a lump manager such as Slade?
http://slade.mancubus.net/
viewtopic.php?t=24955
http://slade.mancubus.net/
viewtopic.php?t=24955
-
-
- Posts: 4149
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
- Location: British Columbia, Canada
Re: how to create consecutive maps ?
The way I usually do the merging of pwads