New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

I was working on a wad that is for classic doom but i decided to start a new project because i don't seem to be good at making classic style maps yet.

I was thinking of making a wad that uses custom sprites and textures, as well as psx doom features.

Map Info:

For some reason it doesn't want to work. The first problem is i don't know how to make custom episodes. I tried copying from other wads and that did not seem to work. Also, for some reason the data for maps doesn't seem to work and i usually don't have that problem ; i mean map names and that sort of thing.

Textures:

I had this problem before. It seems to work fine in the map editor, but for some reason while play testing the wad the textures don't work. I think its because i have to add PNAMES. Do i need to add every custom patch to PNAMES? If so, is there a way to do it more quickly? I have thousands of textures. If not, what do i need to do in order to make custom textures work?

XWE:

For some reason: not all custom sprites from realm667 seem to work on my computer, at least not on XWE. Would they still work in game?

PS : Never mind the texture problem , i got rid of the PNAMES and then they started working.
....

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmHJTn5DrVQ[/youtube]

https://zdoom.org/wiki
Last edited by Abashi76 on Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Nevander »

First off some advice: making classic style maps is only hard because of the limited texture set. I find myself staring at the texture window for minutes trying to find a good texture sometimes. The point is that if you want to start getting serious with WAD making, classic style maps without custom resources is actually the way to go.

But anyway, let's talk about your problems here.


[wiki]MAPINFO[/wiki]:

Custom episodes are simply defined by telling the episode which map to start from. That's all an episode actually is, just a start point so the engine knows which map to load when you select it. You should never need to copy episode definitions since they are so simple to write. Here's what one should look like:

Code: Select all

episode MAP01
{
	name = "My Cool Episode"
	picname = "MYGRPHIC"
	key = "any keyboard key"
}
If you don't want a graphic just remove the picname line. Name will instead be used and it will construct it out of BIGFONT for the menu. If you don't want the normal episodes to appear in the list, you should first do "clearepisodes" before your episode definitions.

Data for maps is stored the same way the episode's properties are, just make sure you are using the right syntax. A typical map definition should look like this:

Code: Select all

map MAP01 "My Cool Map"
{
	levelnum = 1
	titlepatch = "CWILV00"
	next = "MAP02"
	secretnext = "MAP02"
	sky1 = "RSKY1"
	cluster = 1
	par = 0
	music = "$MUS_RUNNIN"
}
That is basically the usual properties you will need. Note that clusters can also alter the episode flow depending on what comes for the next/secretnext properties. For example, a map which has an endgame set for the next map will result in that map being the end of that episode. Remember, the episode definition only tells the engine the start point.


[wiki]TEXTURES[/wiki]:

Depending on your map format, using textures will differ. If you are using UDMF, you don't even need a TEXTURES or PNAMES lump at all so long as the textures themselves are inside the TX_ markers. However I still prefer to define them all, especially if I plan to combine them into a different texture. But let's assume you are using vanilla or Boom format. In this case you will need to use TEXTURE1 and PNAMES to be able to fully define your textures. Essentially a texture is made up of one or more patches, patches are always a single graphic in the list of lumps. This is another reason I prefer UDMF mapping is because you don't need to bother with PNAMES to get textures to work.

Anyway to get them to work you will need to add each individual graphic into PNAMES, then add those into TEXTURE1. You should be able to select all your graphics and right click inside SLADE and click Graphics > Add to Patch Table or TEXTUREx. I've never used these before so I am not sure how they work exactly.


XWE:

Use SLADE. My guess is XWE is doing something weird, but then again I have no idea what you mean by "seem to work."
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

I got it working, except for one thing : the music stopped working, it worked before, i am using a custom track. Also, i want to change which maps add the story intermission.
User avatar
Voros
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:47 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Voros »

Just add the music in the MAPINFO file, along with intermission text. Use exittext to add custom intermission text.
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

Voros wrote:Just add the music in the MAPINFO file, along with intermission text. Use exittext to add custom intermission text.
ty

I had three problems with adding deep water:

1) The walls by the ceiling disappeared
2) Going underwater makes no noise
3) It doesn't look like i'm underwater without fog, and if i add it it puts fog above water
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

After i added custom weapons, Gzdoom won't play it because i need to add a character class. I tried adding it from the zdoom wiki but that still doesn't work because it got an unexpected number "8".
Spoiler:
1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts
That is the message i get when i try to remove the numbers.

I just have another problem. GZdoom builder used to be able to view custom sprites but now i can't see them for some reason. I am talking about decorates and replacement sprites.
Script error, "Nedak.wad:DECORATE" line 18:
Expected '{', got 'ACTOR'.

Script error, "Nedak.wad:DECORATE" line 14:
"actor" is an unknown actor property
I can't find it .... i have too many decorate files. What should i do? I found a lot that were line 14, and i erased some of them. They include : Bronze Lamps, Limestone, Serpent Torches, Ice Props, Strife Columns, Flesh Pods, Hexen Trees, Junk Piles, Tombs, etc .....
User avatar
Voros
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:47 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Voros »

Copy paste a DECORATE file that come up with errors, in spoilers.
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

Voros wrote:Copy paste a DECORATE file that come up with errors, in spoilers.
Problem is i don't know which one. There are a lot of them that have the word 'actor' on line 14.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by wildweasel »

Can you upload your file?

(inb4 "no" for some reason)
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Nevander »

Actor should only be used once at the start of the actor definition, like so:

Code: Select all

ACTOR CoolActor
{
stuff
}
Something like this is totally invalid:

Code: Select all

ACTOR CoolActor : ACTOR CoolActor2
{
stuff
}
Without seeing your exact DECORATE code (and all of it), we can't really help but speculate.
Abashi76
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: New Doom Wad : Need Help With Textures And Map Info

Post by Abashi76 »

I have a new problem :

I am making two oblige wads and the second one (Doom 2) textures stopped working because i made a mistake in trying to solve the problem of a missing texture that appears in game even though map editors say its perfectly fine.

None of the textures work anymore : and at best i got everything but the skybox and the waterfalls to work, and i can't even get that now.

This really pisses me off because normally i know how to add custom textures, and if i make a mistake with XWE everything is ruined : i can't even get the vanilla textures back but even importing a texture file.

I don't want to have to move maps to a new wad with GZDOOM builder : is there anyway to avoid that?


I tried it with PNAMES and it didn't work at all.

EDIT : I solved the texture problem, the problem was Textures1 was bugged so i deleted all the original game textures. Now my problem is adding two more skies (4 & 5). I added them to both TEXTRES and PNAMES. The skies don't work, i get a bugged screen. The first three skies do work though.

Return to “Mapping”