Over the last two months we have been refactoring Raze to work with floating point numbers internally instead of fixed point.
We are now at the stage where we can do the first round of public tests.
Here's the first test version:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/19PkWZc ... sp=sharing
What we primarily need is people to test the engine for bugs. As this was a substantial rewrite there will most certainly be bugs in here, so do not use this version for normal play, it's not ready for that yet.
If you encounter a bug, please report it here at the forum - we do not want to fill the Github bug tracker with all this noise from a public test.
If you want to do more and have some experience with C++ and git, there's another way in which you can help:
For most of these bugs we need to find the commit where the bug originates so that we can inject the fix in place. The normal method to do this is to bisect the work branch until we find the relevant commit. As this can be a very time consuming task, we could really use some help here - we do not expect anyone to actually analyze and fix the code - it's fully sufficient to find the commit and post its commit message. Please do not post the commit hash, as this branch will frequently be rebased which invalidates the hash.
Raze Floating point version - help needed
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49183
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
-
- Posts: 13793
- Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Re: Raze Floating point version - help needed
What branch would non Windows users compile from?
-
- Posts: 1349
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49183
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Raze Floating point version - help needed
I decided to do this a little differently. I'm going to let refactoring3 stand until I put up the next test build. I'll continue working on refactoring4 now.
Sorry I forgot to mention the active branch. For now it's refactoring3. Refactoring4 may contain more fixes but will be rebased each time I merge something into the commit history.
Sorry I forgot to mention the active branch. For now it's refactoring3. Refactoring4 may contain more fixes but will be rebased each time I merge something into the commit history.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49183
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany