Grey screen on zdoom 2.8.1 startup on mac

ZDoom LE, Pentium 133's, Windows 98, and DOS 3.1 all go here! A bygone era, of particular interest to some folks.
invictius
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:44 am

Grey screen on zdoom 2.8.1 startup on mac

Post by invictius »

After the dialog box disappears the title screen is just grey (Menu sounds/music, mouse cursor visible and sounds as if it's changing options). On a powerpc 500 running tiger. It works fine on a powerpc 800 also running Tiger. The error is almost like when you run gzdoom on a dodgy video card that doesn't really support opengl. Not sure if qzdoom would work on such an archaic system.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Grey screen on zdoom 2.8.1 startup on mac

Post by _mental_ »

ZDoom on macOS uses OpenGL to render software framebuffer to the screen.
ZDoom 2.7 should work as it relies on SDL 1. 2.8 requires SDL 2 and so cannot be built for PowerPC Macs.
invictius
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Grey screen on zdoom 2.8.1 startup on mac

Post by invictius »

_mental_ wrote:ZDoom on macOS uses OpenGL to render software framebuffer to the screen.
ZDoom 2.7 should work as it relies on SDL 1. 2.8 requires SDL 2 and so cannot be built for PowerPC Macs.
What was the latest version not to use fmod? I hear that really bogs things down, especially a 500mmhz powerpc...
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Grey screen on zdoom 2.8.1 startup on mac

Post by _mental_ »

If you meant MIDAS then there is no Mac version of it. Also ZDoom was ported to Mac OS X much later.

Return to “Legacy Discussion”