Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

ZDoom LE, Pentium 133's, Windows 98, and DOS 3.1 all go here! A bygone era, of particular interest to some folks.
invictius
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:44 am

Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

Post by invictius »

Trying to compare software rendering on my macs vs a p2-400, I get this:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21498
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

Post by wildweasel »

What OS is this running? I wonder if the problem is a lack of Unicode support or a missing font.
invictius
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

Post by invictius »

wildweasel wrote:What OS is this running? I wonder if the problem is a lack of Unicode support or a missing font.
Windows ME. At first, I thought 2.8.1 was xp only, but it did complete the timedemo.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48320
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

Post by Graf Zahl »

My suspicion would be a unicode/ASCII mismatch of the RichEdit control and the data being sent to it. Don't ask me about the specifics here, it's just that the output looks like such a thing.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Blocky characters in dialog after timedemo

Post by drfrag »

Lack of unicode support, was fixed by hail-to-the-ryzen in LE and the fix it's included in ZDoom32 as well. I plan to do a release soon BTW but i'm struggling with that farclipline thing (i think it's a cool feature since enhances performance even with very long distances).

Return to “Legacy Discussion”