FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by wildweasel »

An option for FONTDEFS-defined fonts to forbid the translation system from doing anything to the graphics. Incidentally, what I really want this for is to be able to use those nice 32-bit alpha-transparent font graphics DoomNukem cooked up without them getting messily downsampled in the process.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Graf Zahl »

Better late than never. Added. And this was quite a hack to get into some code that was dead set on assuming it works with a palette.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Nash »

Wait so font alpha finally works?! Wheeeeeeeeee
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Ral22 »

Thank god I held on to the alpha versions of my fonts.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nash wrote:Wait so font alpha finally works?! Wheeeeeeeeee

It took me the better part of an hour sifting through that code and find the right spot to hook this in. Talk about shortsighted design...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Nash »

Image

(There is alpha, it's very subtle, and has shadows too, and it really makes all the difference - without it, the font looks like shit)

It really looks amazing and raises the bar for modern, high res UIs in GZDoom, but it's a shame about not being to colourize it at all. There's really no other way?

I don't mean to sound ungrateful, I mean I can just provide different graphics for coloured fonts, I'm willing to do that just to get nicer looking UIs... just wish it could be colourizable as well without providing extra graphics. :)

Nice work at any rate, this is a game changer!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: FONTDEFS "DontTranslate"

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nash wrote: It really looks amazing and raises the bar for modern, high res UIs in GZDoom, but it's a shame about not being to colourize it at all. There's really no other way?
No. The colorization will force a downconversion to the palette. That was the entire reason for the problem. The translations just cannot work without palette, maybe some workaround with OpenGL polygon lighting is possible, but that's for after the next release because it requires some deeper changes.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”